My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
Carcassonne: The Robber
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.

Carcassonne: The Robber

List Price: $6.00
Your Price: $3.99
(34% savings!)
(Worth 399 Funagain Points!)

This item is currently backordered [] with no firm available date. As soon as it's available you'll be able to purchase it right here.

Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 30 minutes 2-6

Manufacturer(s): Hans im Gluck, Rio Grande Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

To play Carcassonne: The Robber, you must have:
Carcassonne Big Box
2009 edition, AKA: Big Box 2 Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Carcassonne: Wheel of Fortune
English language edition of Carcassonne: Das Schicksalsrad (Currently Restocking)
(20% savings!)

English language edition, no River tiles Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Carcassonne Big Box
2010 edition, AKA: Big Box 3 Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.

Carcassonne: 10 Year Special Edition Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Carcassonne: Dice (Currently Restocking)
(20% savings!)

Carcassonne: Phantom Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Z-Man Games edition, includes The River expansion (Currently Restocking)

Product Description

Gangs of robbers are on the way and require their tribute. When followers score points, the robbers take some points for themselves.

Product Information

  • Manufacturer(s): Hans im Gluck, Rio Grande Games

  • Year: 2012

  • Players: 2 - 6

  • Time: 30 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 33 grams

  • Language Requirements: Game components are language-independent. Manufacturer's rules are printed in English. This is an international edition or domestic edition of an imported item.

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 4.4 in 8 reviews

Sort reviews by:

Now included with original Carcassonne
November 28, 2002

I had a few complaints about the farmers in Carcassonne. I changed the scoring slightly to make them less powerful and that worked very well, and the River tiles make it even a bit better, in my opinion. In the original, the early farms in the middle often yielded huge points at gameend. The River helps breaks up the middle of the board which helps contain farms a bit more.

I also play that the mountain at the end of the river goes all the way to the edge of the tile in the one corner where it is illustrated to be close to the corner. I make that another 'fence' for the farmer, not counting the small strip of grass that connects the 'north' side to the 'east' side. That means if the farmer really wanted to get a farm that reached around the mountain to the other side, he has to spend an extra diagonal tile to connect the fields.

Excellent addition. The River is so good that I enjoy Carcassone even without the Expansion as long as I have the River.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Successfully Breaks up Farms
August 13, 2002

I've played Carcassonne many times with and without both expansions. The trick to winning is to compete successfully for farms while keeping in the running with other points-making. Apparently, the river tiles were introduced to keep the game from becoming simply a competition to win the one monolithic farm. In most games I play without the river one significant farm determines the winner, and with most games with the river tiles, this is not the case. Once in a while one huge farm will still spring from a game with the river tiles, but this is usually due to some crafty playing by the winning player, who is then justly rewarded. The river tiles elegantly accomplish their intended use without corrupting the simple yet subtle nature of Carcassonne.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
December 28, 2001

I finally got a chance to play with the river tiles. While they don't change the play of the game, they enhance your options for playing tiles when you first start drawing tiles. The twelve river tiles are placed first. Then, when you start drawing regular tiles, you immediately have a number of edges where you can place each tile.

Carcassonne is great without the river, but even better with it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Included in the base set - most necessary
February 12, 2005

For most people, Carcassonne: the River comes prepackaged with the base game of Carcassonne. It’s still considered an expansion in the rule set, having a paragraph mentioned near the end explaining the rules. Early sets of Carcassonne do not include the expansion, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes Carcassonne but is discouraged by huge farmer scores. It was given out for free at one of the Essen fairs, and copies of it are still available online.

The River expansion is made up of twelve tiles, each containing part of a river. One endpoint of the river (the spring) is the starting tile of the game, replacing the original starting tile. The other endpoint of the river (the lake) is set aside, with the remaining ten river tiles shuffled, forming the first ten tiles to be played during the game. Players draw and play these tiles just like normal tiles, with a few rules:

- Each river tile must connect to the other river tiles utilizing the river - not the other edges.

- The river cannot make a U-turn.

- Players may not place meeples directly on the river.

- The river divides farms just like roads do.

The river tiles have cities, roads, and even a monastery on them - just like normal tiles. After the tenth river tile has been played, the next player plays the lake tile to finish the river; and then play proceeds, using the regular tiles.

Aesthetically, the river adds a nice touch, bringing yet another feature to the colorful board. Play-wise, I think the river is also useful, for a couple reasons.

- The biggest and most important is the fact that the river breaks up huge farms that may occur in the basic game. I never found this to be much of a problem, myself, but some folk can’t stand how one farm can really sway the game. Because the river cuts up some of these huge farms, it brings scoring for them back down in the normal range. Farmers are still important, but not quite as powerful.

- The river also gives players more options when starting the game. Since the river tiles have different features on each one that cannot be connected to each other, players have the opportunity to get their meeples early into cities, roads, etc. - all of which should be easily finished. The river also forces these features to be spread out a little more, cutting down on huge cities, long roads, etc.

People’s reactions to the River are quite mixed. Many love it and find it necessary, as I do. It doesn’t change the game that much but really helps the startup to flow more smoothly. The river doesn’t add any real rules to the game, so I almost always include it when teaching the game to newcomers. Some players complain that the river tiles are worthless - and on a glance they might be - but I find that any game I play with them is a much more enjoyable experience.

Tom Vasel
“Real men play board games.”

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Glad that this is now included!
October 07, 2002

The River expansion was produced in short supply, and then had to go back to the printer due to popular demand, as this increases the variety and fun of Carcassonne far beyond what one would expect from just 12 little tiles.

The tiles add a meandering river to the beginning setup of the game, and players must complete it before branching off in other directions. The river serves to provide a variety of new setups at the game's beginning as well as breaking up the inevitably large central farms.

This expansion is now out of print, but happily is being included in all current printings of Carcassonne. I am glad, as this is the way that Carcassonne should be played! Recommended.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Great price and very pretty but it does not add to the game.
May 21, 2002

This expansion does very little for the game besides making the final map look prettier. The game strategy does not change and the setup is a bit more complicated. It's nice to have this addition because it was free, but I often don't play with it because the set-up is a bit contrived and akward. When we do play with it, we often have one player place all of the river tiles and then we begin the game. I thought the purpose of this expansion was to mitigate the power of the farmers but it doesn't seem to. Although this expansion must have been released for a reason, it doesn't seem to change the gameplay. It's purpose is probably to add value by making the map look better and to help with marketing.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Mille
About the River Expansion...
December 22, 2001

For those unfamiliar with the river expansion, it's a minor expansion of 12 tiles. The river tiles are placed before the other tiles. No pieces can be placed on the river itself, it just acts as a border to tone down farms. It's a nice addition for newcomers, but not essential for those who already own an older version of the game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Dave
Nice little twist, and makes the game even prettier!
November 21, 2001

I've been playing with the new expansion for a few weeks now, since a friend very generously found me a copy in Belgium. Carcassonne is usually the opener of choice for my regular game group, so we were all keen to try it.

There are 12 new tiles representing a river, starting at a source and ending in a lake, with a few bends along the way. The river tiles are played at the beginning of the game, and they have the same dark back as the start tile to emphasise this. There are a few restrictions:

  • the river cannot be made into a U-turn;
  • the source and lake tiles should be played after the other river tiles. We usually play with one pile of river tiles, one pile for the original start tile/lake/source, and one pile for the rest;
  • pieces/meeple cannot be played on the river itself, but they can be played on the other features on those tiles. These include fields, roads/bridges, city segments, and an abbey, which means that someone will always get an abbey tile near the start of the game.

I've found it's often a good idea to play a farmer near the end of a river, as the lake and source tiles have 3 green sides--it's sometimes possible to get into a meadow on both sides of the river that way.

All in all, the new tiles don't change the game that much, but they're still fun.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Carcassonne: The Robber:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.