My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
Bang! 10th Anniversary
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.

Bang! 10th Anniversary

List Price: $24.99
Your Price: $19.99
(20% savings!)
(Worth 1,999 Funagain Points!)

This item is out of stock indefinitely []. You can still add the item to your cart and we will ship it to you as soon as it becomes available! We do not expect it within the 30-day period for .


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 20-40 minutes 4-7

Designer(s): Emiliano Sciarra

Manufacturer(s): daVinci Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

To celebrate the 10th anniversary of the best-selling Bang!, dV Giochi will present this limited edition version. Bang! 10th Anniversary is packaged in a metal box and includes all the Bang! playing cards, plus a selection of popular characters – the "Most Wanted", if you will – from all the released expansions of Bang!. In addition, the game will feature deluxe components such as wooden bullets and maxi-sized player boards. To top it all off, this edition will include three previously unpublished characters and a brand new player board!

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Emiliano Sciarra

  • Manufacturer(s): daVinci Games

  • Artist(s): Alessandro Pierangelini

  • Year: 2013

  • Players: 4 - 7

  • Time: 20 - 40 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 630 grams

  • Current Sales Rank: #127

  • Language Requirements: Game components are printed in multiple languages, including English. Manufacturer's rules are printed in multiple languages (including English). This is an international edition or domestic edition of an imported item.

Bang! 10th Anniversary has the following expansions available:
Bang: Gold Rush
(21% savings!)
Bang! Wild West Show
(20% savings!)

Bang!: Dodge City
fourth edition
(17% savings!)
You might be interested in these related products as well:
English language edition of Ohne Furcht und Adel; includes Dark City expansion (Temporarily Out of Stock)
(20% savings!)
Bang! The Bullet
English language edition-Cards are in Italian with English sub-titles and translations (Temporarily Out of Stock)
(20% savings!)

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 4.3 in 43 reviews

Sort reviews by:

Bang! is a blast!
July 27, 2006

This game is very fun. The mechanics of the game are well done. The game does a great job of promoting social interaction, such as light hearted trash talking.

I have taught this game to about 25 of my adult friends. They are a little intimidated at first, but after 2, or 3 games, they are completely hooked. The more times you play it, the better it gets. It plays very fast, once you don't have to stop and interpret every card.

I love this game so much, that I am going to give it a gift to my clients.

The only confusing elements to the game, are the distance modifiers on the horses, and hideouts. It boils down to this; -1 is offensive, and +1 is defensive. They could have done a better job of communicating this.

However, you must buy this one. It is one of my favorite games ever.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Lo Choi
Dodge, Load, BANG!!!
March 06, 2006

YEEHAW!!!!! this game is crazy good made fer all them big parties of 4-7 people. All you fellers have to do is get your right cards and try to find out who's who in this here fantastic game. Yep, I reckon that you should buy this game. Great for parties all over this here world.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Awesome Fun
December 06, 2004
This game is excellent fun. It is fast pace and always loads of action. My one complaint is that people slowly get knocked out of the game, so they have to sit and watch. This is not all that bad because the game lasts only around 15 minutes.
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
the best game
July 21, 2004

I just started playing this game, and after a really long first game (~2 hours) I was hooked. Playing with brand new players makes the game super long, but when people get the hang of it it should take 40 or less minutes. I like this game better than family business or mafia(?) because there is a 'mission' for each player, not just random shooting and killing. There is an equal chance for sheriff and outlaws to win, but the renegade has the hardest role to play (has to kill everyone in order to win). Once everyone gets to know how to play, it's a really great game!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Svein
A classic
June 30, 2004

Just want to add my own little review here so to point out that the two reviews before mine seem to have misunderstood the rules.

When only two players remain you can no longer play beer cards! If you do not follow this rule, then you might easily get into a stalemate like the two before have experienced.

But even with this rule, with cautious players the games could last too long with say 3 players remaining. This problem is solved by the cheap high noon expansion, which both introduces variety, a chance for a dead player to temporarily come back to life, AND most importantly adds an 'armageddon clock' effect that brings games to a conclusion.

One thing though, this game really needs 5 players or more to shine, 5 or 7 works best in my view.

Bang! + High Noon = 5 stars... cant wait for the big dodge city expansion coming later this year!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Forget about the logic and... enjoooooy!
June 23, 2004

Well... you see it at the local games store, you wonder about the price... 'what the heck? That cheap?' and you buy it, just out of love of the western genre.

Then you read the rules. 'Boy, this game is simple, even with the ridiculous cheap 'High Noon' expansion...' and you begin playing, thinking 'ah, funny no brainer, who cares?'

The first game is a real awakening... this game is NOT as simple as it looks. Okay, the RULES are really easy... but the game play isn't!

The factor of not knowing who's who adds a special atmosphere to the game.

The Renegade has to take care that nobody kills the sheriff, but has to make sure that the deputies and outlaws get killed likewise, preferably at the same rate... till only the Tin Star and himself are over... then there's the shootout.

The deputies should protect the sheriff... but there is basically only one single way to do this: killing the outlaws AND the renegade.

The outlaw should kill the sheriff... that's plain easy... at first glance... they are alone... everybody will kill them, occasionally even a 'fellow' outlaw, if he is in desperate need of cards, since you may draw three if you kill an outlaw.

The Sheriff cannot just go around, shooting everybody since he eventually will fire his own deputy... which is definately a very bad idea.

So: everybody has his own goals and his own means to accomplish them...

The only thing which is quite illogical from an ingame view is, that the deputies aren't known. The sheriff will know his deputies because he has hired them, and the others see the deputies badges.

The outlaws would be the guys without a tin star. So that's easy as well.

That makes only the renegade an unknow factor.

But as I said, that's an ingame view. Outgame, you really have to look over that illogical detail and just enjoy it... it's definitely worth it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
The best Western-themed game there is.
May 11, 2004

For a long time, I was wondering if any game would be produced that would successfully simulate a Western theme. Way out West was a good game, and did this to a small degree, as did Lawless! Yet none of them had the showdown flair - the feel of a Spaghetti western. At the same time, there are very few games that successfully handle up to seven players. Until I played Bang! (daVinci Games and Mayfair Games, 2002 - Emiliano Sciarra), Citadels was the top game that fit this niche - one that I enjoyed greatly, due to theme and game play, but when we played Bang!, all that changed.

After my first few playings of Bang!, I was incredibly impressed. It was so thematic, and so much fun - that I thought Citadels was replaced for sure. I immediately ranked the game as a 10, and wanted to play it all the time. After several more plays; however, I found that the game, while extremely fun, wasnt quite the same. It didnt have the same staying power of Citadels, so I ranked it slightly lower. I will admit that this game is probably a bigger hit with adults, as they enjoy the Western theme much more than a fantasy one. And really, the game is a big hit no matter where I take it - so I have to highly recommend it!

Note: There are two editions of the game my summary is of the second edition rules.

A pile of seven role cards are shuffled together and dealt out to each player (a few roles are not included in less than a seven player game.) For purposes of this review, well assume that a seven player game is occurring. Each role is kept secret, except for the player who receives the sheriff card - they reveal their card so that all know who the sheriff is. Each player is dealt two character cards each character has a different special ability and life points. Players decide which of the two character cards they will use and turn the other one face down revealing five bullets. During the game, players slid their character card up and/or down the bullet card to demonstrate how many life points their character currently has. At the beginning of the game, each player starts at full life, except the sheriff, who receives an additional life point (Max 5). A deck of eighty cards is shuffled, and each player receives one card for each life point they have. The Sheriff gets the first turn, and then play proceeds clockwise around the table.

On a players turn, the first thing they do is draw two cards. After doing so, the player can play as many cards as they like from their hand, with only two restrictions they can only play one Bang! card (with some exceptions) and they cannot play two of the same card in front of them. There are many different cards that players can play during a turn:

- BANG! : This card allows a player to shoot another player. Typically, a player can only shoot a player who is a distance of one away from them. (The players sitting directly to the right and left of the active player.) Some cards allow players to shoot further. If the player cannot counter the BANG! card, their character immediately loses one life point.

- Miss! : This card is played in response to a BANG! card. (Obviously, the shot misses.)

- Remington, Schofield, Winchester, Rev. Carabine: These cards are laid down in front of the player, and increase that players shooting range to the number shown on the card.

- Volcanic: This gun allows a player to shoot only at a range of one, but the player can use as many BANG! cards as they want.

- Indians! : This card causes every other player to discard a BANG! card, or they lose a life point.

- Horse: This card increases the players distance from others (those sitting next to him need a gun with range of 2, etc.)

- Appaloosa: This card increases the players range with all guns by one.

- Gatling: This card acts like a BANG! card, but hits ALL other players.

- Jail: This card is played in front of another player. On the next players turn, they turn over the top card of the draw pile. If the suit of the card (all cards have a number and suit) is a heart, they may take their turn otherwise they lose their turn. Either way, the jail card is then discarded.

- Beer: This card heals one life point of the player. It can be used defensively, but only if the player has just lost their final life point.

- Schoolmarm: This card forces another player to lose either a random card from their hand, or one of the face up cards in front of them.

- Panic: This card allows a player to steal a card from another player, either randomly from their hand, or one of the face-up cards they have on the table. This card only has a range of 1.

- General Store: One card for each player is dealt face up on the table in front of everyone. The player who played the card chooses one of the cards for their hand, with the next player choosing one, etc. until all cards are taken.

- Barrel: This card is placed in front of a player. Every time a BANG! card is played on them, they may draw the top card of the deck if the suit of it is hearts, the shot is a miss.

- Duel: The player chooses another player to have a duel with, and discards a BANG! card which his opponent must also do. This continues until one player cannot discard a BANG! card, at which point the duel ends.

- Wells Fargo: The player immediately draws three cards.

- Stagecoach: The player immediately draws two cards.

- Saloon: Everyone heals one life point the player playing the card heals two.

- Dynamite: This card is placed in front of the player. On their next turn, they draw a card from the deck. If this card is between the two and nine of spades, the dynamite explodes. Otherwise, the dynamite passes to the next player, who must check to see if the dynamite explodes on their turn. This continues until the dynamite finally explodes. The player causing the dynamite to explode loses three life points.

After a player is finished playing cards, they discard any cards above their maximum hand size (their current life), and play passes to the next player. Whenever a player loses their final life point, they are out of the game. If the person is an outlaw, the player eliminating them gets three cards immediately as a bonus. If the sheriff eliminates a deputy (stupid sheriff!), the sheriff must lose all cards in hand and on the table.

There are three victory conditions:

- If the Sheriff is killed, the Outlaws (even dead ones) win! UNLESS

- All the outlaws are also dead, and only the Renegade is alive then the Renegade wins! OR

- All the Outlaws and Renegades are killed then the Sheriff and Deputies win!

Some comments on the game

1.) Components: For all the different actions and mechanics in the game, I think its admirable that a deck of cards is all thats needed. Keeping track of each players life using two cards is an excellent mechanic. The cards are of good quality in both editions, and I enjoy the Western-flavored artwork. There are some minor changes between the card art in the first and second editions, and I have to say that probably the second edition is superior. Even more importantly the box from the second edition is fantastic having a plastic card holder in a box with a lid. I wish that I had waited to buy the second edition based on the box alone.

2.) Rules: The rulebook is fairly long for a card game although I suppose Bang! is not your everyday card game. The format isnt too bad although I wish many of the special cards had a description of what they do on the cards. Instead, the cards have symbols on them, letting you know what each card entails. Little reference cards are included that explain most symbols, but still some special cards are only explained in the rules. I know that this allows the game to be distributed in more languages, but this means that during the first couple games, players are constantly referencing the rulebook. The game is remarkably easy to learn, but the special cards could give some pause. Some rules were changed from the first edition to the second for the better! but these rules can be referenced online, and I highly recommend getting them if possible - they remarkably improve game play.

3.) Theme: One reason that Bang! is so popular, is that the game just oozes theme all over. Its probably the best example of a games theme matching mechanics that I have ever played. If you are the sheriff, you feel a righteous indignation welling up in you against these vile outlaws. And the outlaws feel that it is their sworn duty to waste the sheriff and his puny deputies. Games that I have played have often turned into a role-playing game, complete with sound effects and Western drawls. The pictures on the cards, the names of the characters, and the clichs that occur all give the game a spaghetti western feel.

4.) Players: One of the things that makes Bang! so attractive is the fact that it accommodates up to seven players. And indeed, a sever player game of Bang! is superb, my favorite way to play. Games with fewer players are also quite fun, but the dynamics change quite a bit. The fewer the players, the more powerful the Sheriff and especially the Renegade become but weapon power also decreases. Strategy and tactics must be shifted depending on the number of players.

5.) Renegade: There is no denying the fact that the player who receives the Renegade has the hardest task ahead of him. Some have complained about this, but since roles switch often in a set of games, we in our group look at the Renegade as a fun challenge to play. There are also some variants on the internet that use points to weigh the game a little in the Renegades favor (or at least so he has a fighting chance). I havent tried any of these but they do look interesting, and since the Renegade rarely wins a game, I may try some.

6.) Characters: I usually, when teaching new people to play Bang!, skip the characters just concentrating on the roles. However, the characters special abilities add quite a bit to the game. Some of the characters abilities seem much stronger than others, but we just take this into stride akin to the role of the Renegade.

7.) Fun Factor: One factor many people dislike when they see it in games is the elimination aspect. Bang! certainly has this, but because the game is fairly quick, and players have a vested interest in the outcome of the game its not that big of a problem. The game is pure fun! The Dynamite card, while kind of a crap shoot, is probably the most thrill-packed card in the game you can hear people holding their breath during checks to see if it explodes or not. Some people may think that the game, especially the beginning of the game, is just guesswork people shooting at one another randomly, but I feel that the strategy is still there.

8.) Strategy: Im afraid to really delve too deeply into the strategy for a few reasons. One, while the game certainly has strategy, thinking too much about it might detract from the fun. Two, there are some excellent articles that people can find on the internet. Suffice it to say that players must play according to their role, the character they receive, and the number of players in the game.

Bang!, while not in my top ten games, still receives my highest recommendation for a game. Even though Im not as enamored with it as I was with my first playing, the new expansion has breathed new life into it, and at least one more expansion is definitely in the works. Italian designers know how to put the word fun into a game, and Bang! is the epitome of this labor of love. Bang! is inexpensive, extremely fun, and accommodates a lot of players. And it captures the Western flavor almost perfectly. Why would you not buy it?

Tom Vasel

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Paul G
April 22, 2004

One of the most enjoyable card games I have played in years.

You play one of a variety of characters taking on roles of Sheriff, Outlaw, Deputy or Renegade. If the Outlaws Kill the sheriff they win the game. If the renegade is the last man standing, they win the game. You only know who the sheriff is, everyone else is secret. Some good tactics to play especially if you are the renegade, keep the sheriff alive, till the outlaws are dead, then finish him off.


Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
March 10, 2004

Bang! is an addiction with my gang of gamers. This game has almost no flaws, and it's replay value, thanks to the different characters and undercover positions, is tremendous. We play it for hours on end.

There is really no easy way of explaining/teaching the game. There are a variety of cards that one just has to know. Thankfully, the game comes with a 'cheat sheet' that newcomers can look at to help them out. But these cards are easy to remember after one or two games.

The fact that each character has different talents makes this game new and exciting every time. There are 16 characters to choose from. We often choose two and combine their talents, making for many, many more options and situations. One could make other variations to suit their needs.

Finally, the new expansion, 'High Noon,' that is out for this game makes it all the more interesting. It, like the rest of the game, has an element of luck but relies on strategy and cunning.

5 stars!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Surprising Hit With the Family
February 19, 2004

Our family is big on gaming--we own all of the top games & hundreds of others--and we purchased 'Bang!' because of the low price. Surprisingly, this game has become one of our most often played favorites. It's deceptively simple and a relatively short game, but for the strategy-game-wise playing group it plays extremely well.

There is a large element of luck that is carefully balanced by the rules of this game, and can be overcome by a well thought out strategy. Buy it, convince your gamers to try it, and you'll be enjoying it for months!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Peter
fun for all the friends and family
February 10, 2004

This game is great with more the merrier. your going to hear every western saying going. simple and quick to learn, even my girlfriend joined in and she had not played card/board games before.

Your find that it's amazing how you assume who's the baddies. For a cheap game it can make an evening. It's amazing how quick people turn on people. My favorites the Dynamite. it adds some choas to the game.

You only need the one pack for upto 7 players which is a boon. I can see it being used for a long time to come.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Troy
A must have party game
January 06, 2004

If I were to rate this game with less than 6 players, I would only rate it 4 stars. 4 and 5 player games just don't have the same appeal for me.

This is a great party game for 6 or 7 players. I wouldn't be suppressed to see an expansion coming out of this game. I'm not a big fan of party games in general. Usually when one those games come out I volunteer to watch the kids, but this isn't one of 'those' games.

I like the fact that they give you a little cheat sheet so that you don't have to keep asking the guy beside you when you have a question. Once you have played a few times, you shouldn't have any problems understanding what you need to do, even with those cards that tell you to refer to the manual.

I can't see any reason you wouldn't want to buy this game that is unless you are just very opposed to drinking. Beer is to regain life points which, I guess, could be offensive to some. Anyway, it is a great game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Can't get much more fun per dollar!
December 25, 2003

I brought this out with a group of non-gamers at work, not having played it yet myself. This was to be the intro game before we played the 'real' (big box) game that the evening was planned for. After the second game, everyone wanted to keep playing, and I had to make everyone promise that they would still be able to stay long enough to play the big game if we played one more game of Bang! It was an easy decision for everyone. :-)

I wouldn't hesitate to bring this out with any group, although it really shines best when you have 5 players (but more is better than fewer).

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by J Quinn
This town ain't big enough for both of us
September 28, 2003

This game is a blast. And that's true whether you play with the dynamite card or not. If you want to create more atmosphere, try playing 'The Good, The Bad and the Ugly' music in the background.

The game is fun and varied. Each game you are randomly dealt a role card (1 sheriff, 2 deputies, 3 outlaws and 1 renegade for 7 players). Then, you are also dealt a personality card (such as Willie the Kid) each allowing each player to have a distinct and unique advantage. There are quite a few of these, I didn't count how many. This makes for many possible variations. Also, the seating arrangement changes your strategy. Suppose luck places you, the sheriff, between two outlaws. You'll be in a crossfire from turn one.

In my favorite game, I was a deputy and before it even got to be my turn, an outlaw sitting next to me had the 'play as many bang cards as you wish in a turn' personality. He unloaded 3 bang cards on me. Fortunately, I had the 'draw a card, if it is a heart count it as a miss' personality. Through that whole game, the outlaws had me down to one bullet (or life) most of the time. I was Swiss cheese! But I still succeeded in knocking off two outlaws, lived to the end, and we won. I always either drew a heart, or had a 'miss' card or a beer card (replenishes one life)in my hand, and a barrell to hide behind much of the time.

So far, we have had ten different people play it on several occasions, in groups of 5, 6 or 7; with and without the extra cards. Ages ranged from 10 to 50 and both genders played. Everyone has liked it, and some are crazy about it. It's a good, social game. 'I shot the sheriff, but I did not shoot the deputy.' (It is still fun to hear people groan when I sing that line after shooting the sheriff). And the price is good... it has been well worth it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Gegg
Diplomacy in the American West...
September 27, 2003

I recently introduced BANG! To my Munchkin (Another great card game for the fantasy inclined especially) group. At first they were disappointed that we weren't playing Munchkin, and had to go test yet another of my purchases on a whim. Well we all loved it. We even induced several non-gamers away from a football game that had grown rather dull into the fray!

The best part of the game is the unknown classes (Deputy, Renegade and Outlaw). It took a few games to get it down, but by the end, mass confusion between who was the renegade and the deputy soon ensued.

Playing styles differed from person to person. Often the Outlaws would 'send a signal' to other players by promptly firing at the sheriff, but more often than not, every player seemed to claim that they were the deputy, making for a very interesting game.

Overall a wonderful game. Simple rules that anyone can understand, yet enough depth to provide strategy, teamwork, and a hefty amount of backstabbing that one generally can only find in much more complex and longer games. The cards are worded in English and Spanish, with simple pictures depicting what they do whenever possible.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Wild, wild, WILD West
September 10, 2003

Some games are harder to rate than others. Sometimes I give a game 5 stars and regret it later. Or give it 3 but wish I could rate it a half star higher. Then again, some games are 5 stars -- period. BANG! is one of those games. Not only did the theme of this game grab me (there aren't a lot of good German games with a Western theme) but also the gameplay grabbed me. This has: action cards, partnerships, hidden roles, special abilities for each player, different goals for each partnership -- and even more that make this game special.

Players start out with one character (eg. 'Black Jack' or 'Jourdonnais') which is made known publicly, and that character has a special ability no one else has (eg. 'Trade 2 cards to regain a life point' or 'May draw a card everytime he is hit'.) So part of your strategy will be to take advantage of your character's ability to the fullest. But that's only the beginning.

Then players are dealt a 'role' and this is kept secret -- and herein the enjoyment of the game. You see, depending on how many players play, the roles are different, but however they are distributed, they are teamed together -- sort of. For example, in a 5 player game, there is 1 Sheriff, 1 Deputy, 1 Renegade, and 2 Outlaws. The roles are be dealt out and kept secret, except for the Sheriff, who declares himself. Now in order to win, the Sheriff and the Deputy need to kill both Outlaws; the Outlaws must kill the Sheriff; the Renegade must kill everyone, but loses if Sheriff dies before the Outlaws do. 'Well,' you say, 'that's not too hard to follow.' Ah yes, but remember that no one knows who anyone else is. And at the beginning of the game you can only 'shoot' the player on your right and the player on your left. So the Sheriff may start out by taking a swipe at the person on his left -- who may well be his Deputy! So the first important goal for each player is to try and figure out who is on his team -- and more importantly, who is not -- so he can start attacking his opponents! But even that is not as straightforward as it appears, because anyone who kills an Outlaw gets a 3 card reward -- even if it is the other Outlaw who makes the kill!

So players are trying to figure out the roles of every player, and that largely is found out by how they behave towards the Sheriff. If one player is not shooting the Sheriff, even though they sit side-by-side at the table, then it's a good bet he is a Deputy. So the Deputy may shoot at the Sheriff a couple times to try and throw the Outlaws off his scent -- but if the Sheriff kills his deputy (in defense, your honor!) then he loses all his cards.

The second unique feature of the game is the idea of 'range.' You see at the beginning of the game, everyone has a revolver which has a range of 1. (Weapons in the deck have a range of up to 5.) That means you can shoot people who are sitting in the seats immediately to the right and left of you. What that means is how people are seated around the table determines whether or not you can hit them. If Jenny is the Sheriff and I want to shoot her, but she is 3 seats away from me, and I only have a gun with a range of 2, I can not take a shot at her.

But there is a game going on while all this other stuff takes place. It is a card game, and a fun, quick one at that. Players have a hand of cards and at the beginning of their turn take 2 more, then play as many as they want to on one turn. The BANG! card is the heart of play, as your basic 'shoot' card. The player being shot at then gets to play a 'Miss' card if he has one in order to avoid the shot. That is the basic part of the game, but there is so much more because fo the variety of action cards.

What kind of action cards? Indian attacks force everyone else to play a BANG! card or get hit; General Store cards get everyone an extra card, but with an interesting distribution method; Gatling Gun takes a shot at everyone at the table who must discard a 'Miss' card or take the hit; Dynamite cards (that get played on you first) go around the table (like 'hot potato' turn by turn) and have a 12.5% chance of blowing up on any given player; Jail cards can be played on anyone and have a 75% chance of causing that player to miss their turn. I could go on, but you get the idea.

What you end up with is a game that plays 4-7 players, in about 20 minutes a game (with experienced players), and provides some neat and unique gaming.

Part Mafia/Werewolf, part Mille Bornes, part cheesy Western movie, part partnership game -- whi one has it all. For under $10. BUY IMMEDIATELY. =)

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
What else?
August 20, 2003

Okay, there is one problem associated with this game - we stopped playing The Citadels completely. Otherwise it's great. Easy to learn, not too long and not too much about luck! This is especially interesting, as most card games are primarily about just how lucky you are. Am I not right, Hombres?

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Don't listen to the haters. It's a fun game.
August 14, 2003

$10 is overpriced? And the only thing I see in common are that you shoot at each other with cards. Is every game the same as Monopoly if you use toy money?

To the guy who was dead before he played:

The people you played with must not like you. There is no reason for everyone to shoot at you like that. First of all, the first three players would have to have been delt or drawn a weapon for them to even shoot at you that far around the table. Also, one or more of the people who shot you was on your team. The way the game is set up, some players are outlaws, some players are the law, and the renegade needs to make sure both sides are equally matched so that he's the last player standing. At the beginning of a 6 player game it should be 3 on 3 with the renegade helping out the law.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Craig P
Fun fairly easy to learn game! Perfect for 6 or 7 players.
August 02, 2003

I played it first with a group of guys who love gaming. We quickly picked up the rules and played it four times the first night and all LOVED it!

So I had to get my own copy to try with my family, too. The first time playing with them, some of them had a difficult time picking it up, but by half-way through the second game, everyone had figured it out and had a blast playing it. We can't wait to get together to play it again!

I'd recommend it to anyone who loves to get together with friends or family and play games.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Mike
Lots of Old West fun!
July 31, 2003

This game is a blast to play. It plays quickly and evokes a lot of old west trash talk. The hidden roles aspect really adds to the game as everyone is speculating who is who. It's really not hard to learn either. I've taught it to two groups so far. The first was non-gamers (and it was my first time as well) and we had it figured out by the second game. The second was to a bunch of gamers, and they picked it up in about 5min. Also, the player elimination is not a major issue at all, since the game plays so quickly (usually 20-30min).

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Mike
A blast!
July 30, 2003

This game is a complete blast to play. Guessing who is who is fun and take some deduction. The special powers for each player/character also add a lot of personality to the game. It takes one or two games to get the rules down, but after that it's extremely quick and exciting. Trash talking definitely helps the mood.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Awesome game! takes time to learn
July 07, 2003

Here's the deal with BANG. . . If you are a slow-learner or preoccupied, stick to checkers. BANG is for the big boys. If you are a gamer and pick things up quick, this is an affordable game that will pay for itself after the first night of playing. I played one full game with seasoned players and by the second time we played I had it down. This is a REALLY fun game with 6 or 7 people. Nobody knows who is who so there's alot of faulty alliances, trash-talking and manipulation between players which makes for a great time.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
A perfect opener.
April 16, 2003

We find several rounds of Bang! to be a perfect gaming appetizer for an evening. The amusing interaction between the players, the twisting fortunes and quick gameplay that feels luck-based but not *too* lucky all add up to a first-rate group gaming apertif.

Put strategy aside for a while and just enjoy thinking on your feet and reacting to the mayhem around you.

fun stuff

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Steve
Brilliant Fun
March 25, 2003

Don yer Stetson and Winchester Rifle and Bag yourself an Outlaw or Sherrif. Great fun working out who's who; even better fun taking them out! There's plenty of variety with 16 different characters each having it's own special ability and a great Wild West name to match.

Gain better guns; enter into duels; fight 'Injuns'; send opponents to jail (to miss turns), shop at the store; use mistresses to rob your opponents of valued resources. Best of all, blast your opposition away with dynamite and a Gattling gun.

And if your on the receiving end you can even try to duck behind a barrel or grab yourself a beer in the local salloon to heal your wounds and wait for that sweet moment of revenge.

Nice touches are that each of the players are given their own role: Sherrif, Deputy, Renegade or Outlaw. Each has a different objective to win and any of the 16 special character abilities can be combined with any role.

The artwork and quality of the cards is good.

So, plenty to go at, simple to learn and offering unsurpassed interactive fun for 4-7 aspiring Cowboys.

An absolute must for parties.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Bang!!! ' .... Man...-_-; you got the wrong person...'
March 07, 2003

I played several games With my friends

But whenever play...

I find someone like it and someone didn't like it..

They said 'It's too boring..' 'Too much easy or too much difficult...'

And if someone dismissed earlier. all they want just 'End quickly!!'

But this game's situation is diffrent...

If someone dissmiss earlier. He can still guess who is 'Renegade' Who is 'Outkaw..' till end of the game.

And you can feel the thrill each game because every time change the role and character.

Great balance(I think this is most important factor of game, cool designed card, Suspicion..)

This game will take you to the 100 years ago in the weatern village...

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by CJ
A Great Game!
December 16, 2002

This is a great game! My friends, family and roommates are all addicted to it. I have numerous other games ranging from Setters, The Princes of Florence and Carcassonne to Uno and Phase 10. But Bang! is the only one that they will play. And they play it all of the time. In fact, not only do I own a copy, but to date I have had eight other people ask me to help them get a copy.

There are several reasons why I think Bang! is such a big hit. The first is the player interaction. Players need to pay attention to what the other players are doing inorder to figure out who is who. The posturing and bluffing keeps everyone involved. There is very little dead time between turns. In addition, it only takes one game to understand how things work, and then beginners can duel with the best of them.

Second, is the reasonable playing time. Most games are done in less than half an hour. This means that even those players who are eliminated only have to wait a few minutes to play again.

Third, is that the variety of roles and characters that can be played makes each game different and interesting. Great replay value.

Fourth, is that Bang! works well for groups of four to seven players. Each size groups requires different strategies, which help keeps things interesting.

Fifth, the wild west theme is integrated very well into the game. It is not just a fancy covering like so many other games. The artwork is well done.

Sixth, the designer, Emiliano Sciarra, has made himself very available to answer questions and take input. I wish that more designers were that way.

Seventh, you can't beat the price and value.

I usually don't write game reviews. But I have played this game over thirty times in the past month with many different people and they all love it. It is definitely a game that deserves recognition. Truly a great game!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Ema
Wonderful family/party game. Fast and funny!
November 02, 2002

I played the game several times. Moreover I organized a tournament with my collegues in my office!

It's really a funny game! It's fast: you can play it in 30-45 miunutes. It's always different: sometime you are the sheriff, sometimes the outlaw, sometimes you are Will the Kid, sometimes Suzy Lafayette.

It's easy to BANG your opponents: just play that card, but they can MISS the shoot using their cards.

You can also use differents guns, or collect special cards for special skills.

It's a must for party/family game, and you will live the old far west in spaghetti style from an original italian game author.

Don't miss it,sorry: BANG it!!!!!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Martin Pulido
Excellent game in terms of intrigue, replayability, and modding
January 28, 2011

This western mafia game with RPG-like elements, and a clever system of distance will keep you playing over and over again. You gain a different role and character each game getting you to constantly rethink your strategy. The game has several fun expansions, both official and unofficial. BANG! is also pretty easy to mod. There are many house roles and alternate gameplays (search for BANG! Tactics or Infinite BANG! for instance) to consider. Adding character cards is easy, as well as adding new playing cards. Ideal for 5 players, it is still fun with 4 and as many as 8.

If you like BANG!, check out the upcoming Robber's Roost and Death Mesa unofficial expansions. Orange cards are introduced: cards that can never be played on your turn, but rather at or during specific events on other players' turns. The orange cards are meant to improve teamwork, speed up the game, and allow you to do things while waiting for your turn. Learn more at The BANG! Blog:

Less of a comprehensive expansion than Robber's Roost, Death Mesa provides a fun way of keeping dead players in the game. While they lose their character abilities and no longer draw from the normal deck, they still participate by drawing and playing cards from the Dead Men's Deck. Check out the unofficial Death Mesa expansion at The BANG! Blog:

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Gamin' Amy
Bang! for your Bucks
April 13, 2007

This is a great game! I liked it so much that after the first time I played it at a friend's house I came right home and ordered one for my family and one for my mom to keep at her house for parties! It is that good. It is never the same game twice. Men love it. Women love it. Kids who are old enough to play love it!

To be honest, it is tricky to get the hang of at first. It took me a couple of rounds to get all the rules down. Once you've got it, it's tons of fun. Hang in there. It is worth learning to play!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Wild West Werewolf
July 22, 2004

Mafia/Werewolf is a public domain game that has acheived a level of popularity over the past several years. The idea is that two factions are out to obliterate each other, namely the werewolves and the villagers. What makes the game unique is that nobody is really sure what faction the other players belong to. The gamplay is a game of negotiation, bluff, and double- and triple-think. It has proven so popular that several publishers have devised their own variants and released them, including daVinci games, publishers of Bang!

Bang! is NOT that game, however it does share some similarities. Once again there are two factions, the outlaws and the law, represented by the Sheriff and his deputies. Once again, the factions are mostly unknown to one another, since the only openly revealed role is that of the Sheriff. What is different is that Bang! is primarily a card game, with players executing card actions to ping away at the life points of their opponents. Players are not eliminated by consensus as they are in Werewolf, but by depletion of their precious life points by shots taken in this wild shootout.

The game would be interesting but not that entertaining if it were not for various special cards. Each player has a character card that gives them a special power, similar to the special racial powers in Cosmic Encounter. This is in addition to their secretly-held role in the fracas. There are also various cards that will allow a player to avoid being shot, to shoot at all other players, to shoot a non-neighboring player and so on. There is a lot of variety stuffed into this little box.

Bang! is a great game for a party or as a game night opener, provided you have enough players. It should not be taken seriously, but in the right frame of mind this is a real winner.


Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
The best thing to come out of Italy since the Stradivarius.
December 04, 2003

I tend to shy away from party games, but Bang! is the best card game or party game that I have played in a long time. Since there are good in-depth reviews on this site, I will only say that not knowing who is on your team nor who the opponents are is an interesting mechanism that leads to some subtle strategy.

Bang! is at its best with 5 players but 4-7 can play. I found the 7 player game to last too long and take too long between turns, especially if two or more players are yacking instead of paying attention (which is a common problem with party games). Bang! requires that you pay attention, because the strategy can be so subtle.

Everyone I have introduced Bang! to has loved it. The wild west theme has lots of appeal and it is simply a fun game. It does take a while to memorize the meaning of the symbols on the cards but most players should have a handle on that by the end of the first or second game.

Bang! should be fun for most gamers and non-gamers alike. A good game for mixed company.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by David
Simple and fun
November 17, 2003

Most everything has been said about this game, so I'll just add a few of my reasons. I have friends spread out all over, so taking a copy of my games is troublesome since I don't want anything to happen to them (I've actually just bought some of my games for friends so I didn't have to always carry around mine), also, some of my friends are gamers, but their wives (who also want to play games) are not. This game fills those troubles. It is easy for me to carry around, and it is easy to learn.

There are three areas of conflicts for me with it actually.

1) For the non-gamers, the 'Range' is odd for them. Although it really is simple(this isn't a problem, I just get some blank stares until it finally clicks).

2) Shooting someone is so much fun that even after hours of play they still forget you can only shoot once per round (some cards do effect this). Which brings me to my third point...

3) This game has that simple addicting quality that makes me almost dread showing it to people anymore (even though I still do). When I introduce this game to new people, I find that is all we play... all day... for hours and hours.

I would recommend this game. In fact, I've actually giving away my first copy (my friends wife liked it so much she wanted to buy it from me) and am about to buy another one from here. :)

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Jesse
Best Card Game I've ever played but too many people required
October 13, 2003

This game was a lot of fun for the family. Constant smiles as we went along. But it seemed like we had to beg people to stick around so it would be fun.


1) Great replay value. Every game is different because your role changes (Sheriff, Outlaw, Renegade, Deputy). And you can be different characters dealt out at random that have special abilities.

2) Almost everyone involved at all times.

3) Roles are hidden and you must figure them out based on their actions.


1) Can be annoying when people play slowly. People can nod off if they're not being shot at!

2) Need to many people to play. At least 4 to actually play. Probably best with 5 or 7.

Overall, I enjoy the game. Unfortunately I can only play it when a certain amount of people are around. And it can be annoying when some people aren't paying attention and they make stupid mistakes (like when the Sheriff starts shooting his Deputy- even though its clear that the 'Deputy' has been shooting other 'Outlaws.' Then again, this factor can be a fun aspect to the game as well.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Draw, stranger!
November 29, 2002

In this cleverly designed game, each player starts with a personality (giving a special power) and a role: sheriff, deputy, outlaw, or renegade. Then the shooting starts. The sheriff and deputies win by killing the outlaws and the renegade; the outlaws win if one of them is still alive when the sheriff is killed; and the renegade wins if he/she is the last man/woman standing. Part of the fun is that all roles except that of the sheriff are hidden, so you can never be quite sure who you're shooting at until patterns emerge. Players are of course free to claim to be anyone, but can't reveal their role cards until eliminated. There are two more twists: anyone (including an outlaw) can draw extra cards for killing an outlaw, and the sheriff loses all his cards if he accidentally guns down a deputy. The role of the renegade is particularly interesting, as he must help keep the sheriff alive till the outlaws are eliminated.

Firepower is provided by the 'Bang' card, which can be countered by a 'Missed'. If the shot doesn't miss, the victim loses strength. Strength can be restored by drinking beer. But you can't shoot at just anyone; it depends on the range of your weapon and how far away from you the potential target is seated. A variety of other cards spice things up: you can jump on a horse to put distance between you and an enemy, buy everyone a beer at the saloon, rob the stagecoach or Wells Fargo for extra cards, steal your neighbor's prized Winchester, put an opponent in jail, and so on.

The consistent development of the theme, and the great interaction, make this a very successful game. Although you may find that it takes a hand or two to get everyone familiar with the rules, it's very suitable for a party with a mixed group.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Not Bad, But Not For Everyone
March 24, 2006

I just played Bang! for the first time last weekend. After reading reviews of the game, I highly suspected that someone had decided to sell the party game Mafia as a card game. I was pleasantly surprised to learn I was wrong. The concept is similar, but the cards cause the game to be played out very differently.

First let me say that I did enjoy the game.

1. The theme is very strongly incorporated into the mode of play and the artwork. You can have a better gun, a horse, a barrel to hide behind. You can set dynamite to explode, but without any clue as to when. You regain health by drinking beer or whiskey (which is equivalent to two beers).

2. There is a lot of player interaction in the game, especially since you are trying to kill each other.

3. The secret “jobs” of each player added some interesting guess work, at the beginning at least. And, in answer to the complaint that the Sheriff never wins, well ours did. So, it can happen. (Though, dynamite was the real killer in our game, taking out almost all of the players without any help.)

There are a few quibbles I’d like to mention, though.

1. I don’t see this game being played within the suggested time frame of 40 minutes. Ours probably took more like an hour and a half or so. Mind you, several of us had never played the game before, and there is a fairly steep learning curve in Bang! But, even once we all had the hang of it, things did not speed up appreciably.

2.a. The cards can be rather complex in the number of things required to use them and the results of their use. They do have a clever system of icons to help you out, but the Dodge City expansion does not consistently use those symbols. Also, some of the cards have a symbol that simply means, “check the rulebook.” So, they are still not the answer all.

2.b. More on the complexity of the game: Quite regularly, we found we had been forgetting rules during play. “Oh, I forgot. My character requires you to play two ‘Miss’ cards to avoid damage when I shoot you with a ‘Bang’ card;” or, “Oh, wait, I forgot. My character lets me check twice to see if I can hide behind my barrel when you shoot me.”

2.c. Still more on the complexity of the game: For whatever reason horses proved to be the most confusing element of the game for our humble little group. The -1 horse moves me farther away when someone else is trying to shoot me; but, not when I am shooting him. Or is that the +1 horse? As a house rule to clear this confusion, might I suggest only using the horses that bring you closer when you attack, and removing the other type of horse; keeping hideouts to move you farther away when others attack.

For people who don’t mind having a lot of little details to manage, don’t let this review scare you off. You will greatly enjoy this game. For the rest of you, I would definitely suggest trying it at a friend’s house before you buy it yourself. Bang! can be an enjoyable game, but will not fit everyone’s taste.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Must be pretty good
July 27, 2005

Bang must be the greatest Western-themed game ever. Why? Because it's held my attention more than once and Western is probably my least favorite genre.

The upsides to this game include:

  1. The idea of different goals for each player.
  2. The theme is carried out perfectly. The action of each card makes perfect sense with the theme.
  3. The different cards, and characters ability.
  4. Even more is added if you pick up the Dodge City expansion.

The downsides include:

  1. Not knowing what role each player has seems rather ludicrous as it is fairly obvious as soon as the shots are fired.
  2. Without a typed out explanation on the card of how it works, casual players can't pick up and play very easily.
  3. Every time I've played, the Sheriff ends up dead after about 15 minutes. This is a result of the fact that the Outlaws can work together bombarding the Sheriff, but the Deputies (and even the Renegade) can't help protect him.

OK, so that makes 4 good and 3 bad. Must be a good game, right? Well, as I said, the theme isn't exactly my cup of tea. So number 2 of the good should be in the bad column for me. But despite this, I am willing to (and will) play again, so it's not all bad.

In synopsis, I highly recommend this game if you are a gamer who doesn't mind reading a lot of rules and likes the Western theme. If you don't fit in that category, I can't promise that you will like it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Brett
Needs some tweaking
June 27, 2004

This game is usually a fun little game. However, I think the rules should be tweaked in order to maximize the enjoyment of this game. First of all, victory for the Renegade is almost impossible. If there was some way to assist the Renegade while not revealing his or her identity, that would be nice. Unfortunately, there is no way to do that.

Secondly, if the game turns into a standoff between the Sheriff and one other player, the Sheriff has a HUGE advantage due to the Jail cards. In my opinion, when a final standoff occurs, whenever a Jail or Beer card is drawn it should be discarded from the game and a new card be drawn. This will speed things up as Beer seems to unnecessarily prolong the game at this point.

I have not played with the High Noon expansion, so it is possible that it balances out some of these concerns that I currently have with the stand-alone game of Bang!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Kent
Good idea but overdone.
January 26, 2004

The game requires too much focus on game components which detracts from the strategy and general fun. It is as though the Pentagon got hold of the old card game Wyoming Cowboy (www.wyoming and kept adding 'improvements' and gadgetry until the idea became more complex than useful. It is enjoyable and has some interesting facets, but I like the old game better.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Showdown in the streets
April 11, 2003

The acrid smell of gun powder still stains my hands three days after the fight. I was one of the fortunate ones who survived both fights. My name is Grange- I'm the law in town.

My first two times to play the game and I had a blast! Here is what Iloved about the game:

1. random drawing of characters

2. mystery of discovering who is really on your side.

3. killing bad guys or in the amoral world of outlaws-just guys.

4. the western genre- loved Eastwood westerns

5. laughing with my buddies

There was not much I did not like about the game other than I cannot buy a copy because I can't get enough guys together to play.

Take this game for what it is meant to be, a belly-bustin, heart throbbin good time.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
BANG.. is it over yet?
August 10, 2008

I have played this game twice with 5 people total. First group were very experienced gamers and the second group were casual gamers. Neither groups much fun. I am used to what the card can do explained on the card. These cards only have symbols and you have to reference cheat cards. Even the cheat cards are vague so then you have to reference the rules. So game flow gets choppy because of that. A simple concept was taken and complicated to death. I am also not a fan of games that eliminate people in the flow of play. Then you have people bored watching the constant bang/miss exchange over and over. I will most likely never break this game out for all night game sessions again.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by James
Bogged down for us.
June 25, 2004

Me and some friends played (4 person game) and I ended up sheriff with Strager (I believe). Anyway game play went as expected and renegade of course was working on the outlaws as fast as possible. However (forgetting the character name) one of the outlaws took the renegade out and that was where things broke down.

I had the Mustang and best visual distance score so no one could reach me (majority of the time). The outlaw in play had and ability to draw two cards and discard the one he doesn't like. With beer and misses we would get down to 2 bullets left then complete recharge. I put the dynamite in play and it never exploded (would have on the outlaw had he not had the two card deal). Ended up shuffling the discard pile 4 times and finally came down to me shooting the outlaw.

ALl and all the 40 mintue tops game ran 2 hours. Highly disappointed.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Kent
Over-produced spin-off of the old card game Wyoming Cowboy
May 28, 2003

There once was a simple, cool concept: a card game where players can be cowboys and shoot one another with gun cards. Then imagine the Pentagon got hold of the idea. They've piled so much on the simple construct that it falls down of its own weight. No fun. Go for the old classic.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
I was out before the start
April 17, 2003

quick report of my first (and last game)game.

6 players, I was the fifth to play.

First round:

a) he shooted against me

b) he shooted against me

c) he shooted against me

d) he shooted against me

e) I didn't play because I was already dead

Really a disappointing game with an absurd mechanism.

It doesn't worth the time to learn the rules.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Bang! 10th Anniversary:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.