My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Carcassonne: Traders & Builders
Close Zoomed Image Carcassonne: Traders & Builders

Carcassonne: Traders & Builders

Z-Man


List Price: $17.99
Your Price: $14.99
(17% savings!)
(Worth 1,499 Funagain Points!)

This item is out of stock indefinitely []. You can still add the item to your cart and we will ship it to you as soon as it becomes available! We do not expect it within the 30-day period for .

Quantity:

Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 30-45 minutes 2-6

Designer(s): Klaus-Jurgen Wrede

Manufacturer(s): Z-Man Games, Hans im Gluck

Please Login to use shopping lists.

To play this game, you must have:
Carcassonne
English language edition with River tiles Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Carcassonne: Wheel of Fortune
English language edition of Carcassonne: Das Schicksalsrad (Currently Restocking)
List: $29.95 $23.99 (20% savings!)

Carcassonne
English language edition, no River tiles Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Carcassonne: 10 Year Special Edition Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.

Carcassonne: Dice (Currently Restocking)
List: $17.50 $13.99 (20% savings!)
Carcassonne: Phantom Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.

Carcassonne
Z-Man Games edition, includes The River expansion (Currently Restocking)
$34.99

Product Description

The second major expansion to the original game of Carcassonne, Traders & Builders contains 24 tiles with new features such as Bridges and Cities.

Some tiles also feature symbols for the goods Wine, Cloth and Wheat. Players collect one of these goods when the feature that has it on the tile is scored. Players with the most of each type of good gets bonus points at the end of the game. There is a popular house rule that allows the trading of goods between players in exchange for other goods and the ability to chose where a tile is placed. There are also two new wooden playing pieces in this expansion. The Builder is like a meeple in that it may be placed in a city or road as a kind of supervisor. A subsequent tile extension of the feature the Builder is it allows the player another tile placement. Farmers will also be able to place a new Pig pawn in a field for extra points at the end of the game.

Finally, Traders & Builders comes with a large cloth bag. Not only does this makes it easier to keep and handle the tiles, but it also removes the problem of having non-identical backsides.

Carcassonne: Traders & Builders Expansion Play Summary

Traders - Some of the new city tiles depict goods: wine, grain and/or cloth. When you complete a city, your own or someone else's, you collect a matching token for each good in the city. At game end, whoever has the most goods in each category scores an additional 10 points.

Builders - Each player receives a builder meeple in his color. You can add your builder to any city or road you already have in progress. Now anytime you add a tile to that city or road, you immediately get to take another turn. The builder does not count as a follower for determining control of a city or road.

Pig - You can add your pig to one of your farms to enrich its value. A farm with a pig scores 4 points per completed city served instead of the usual 3.

Traders & Builders is playable with or without the first expansion.

Part of the Carcassonne series

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Klaus-Jurgen Wrede

  • Manufacturer(s): Z-Man Games, Hans im Gluck

  • Artist(s): Doris Matthaus

  • Year: 2013

  • Players: 2 - 6

  • Time: 30 - 45 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 317 grams

  • Language Requirements: Game components are language-independent. This is an international edition or domestic edition of an imported item.

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.4 in 19 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Good expansion set
July 15, 2004

Traders & Builders is a good expansion set. The builder adds an extra dimension of fun - it encourages players to build where their builder is to get a 2nd tile on their turn. Probably the best thing about this expansion are the goods tiles. Because of the value these tiles bring, they encourage players to finish cities to get these tiles. This encourages players to not be so focused on completing their own cities because there is incentive in finishing others's cities. This cures one of the faults of the original Carcassonne. The only thing I don't feel is too necessary is the pig. The value that the pig adds to farms doesn't seem to make much of a difference.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
after a single game...
January 02, 2004

My wife and I just played a game of Carcassonne with the Traders and Builders expansion (along with the Inns and Cathedrals expansion). We would agree with other reviewers in that it didn't change the dynamics of the game significantly, but the twists were interesting and novel (especially if you haven't tried the Hunters and Gatherers version yet). At first, we were going to keep the expansion separate from the original game, but after playing once, we decided to add the tiles to the mix, combining all the expansions with the original in one box. This expansion is well worth the money, and we don't think we'll be going back to playing just the original for the forseeable future.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Good Game - Great Game
August 14, 2003

After the first time of playing the original Carcassonne (with the River Expansion) at some friends of ours, we were hooked. A couple of weeks after playing it, I went out and bought the original, and the 2 expansions (Traders & Builders and Inns & Cathedrals). Both sets are excellent. Add both expansions together to get a superb game! The only downside to the expansions are the difference in colours on the backs of the tiles (very slightly). The Traders & Builders edition makes up for this though, as it has a cloth bag included in the game, to place all the tiles in.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Best of the expansions
July 29, 2003

Simply a fantastic expansion to an already great game. If you had to choose between Traders & Builders or Inns & Cathedrals to add to your Carcassonne game, choose Traders. I enjoy the aspect of playing multiple pieces and being rewarded extra turns. This expansion makes for very interesting endings because you can no longer predict when it's going to be over.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great Original... Great Expansion
July 20, 2003

If Carcassonne is the best value for money game, then Builders and Traders is the best value for money expansion. This game adds a whole new dimension of strategy and tactics to the game. It almost feels like a completely new game.

The Builder helps to complete larger cities, while the Godd tokens encourage players to finish each others cities. The new tiles help to create a couple of farms, so the game isn't just a race to see who can outnumber their opponents in the field.

I find this expansion to be a better addition than the other Expansion (now called Inns and Cathedrals) which I think unbalanced play a lot more.

Buy Builders and Traders if you want to turn your old copy of Carcassonne into a completely new game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great news for Carcassonne fans
June 04, 2003

Just when I thought Carcassonne was the perfect game with the first expansion, along comes a second one, which adds two wonderful layers of complexity, just the thing to make the game even more interesting. Given the current state of the game, I would not teach new people the second expansion, unless they are pretty sophisticated, until a few games had been played. Otherwise, it can be a little overwhelming, given the many choices that have to be made. A rich, rich game, completely different with each playing. Anyone who wants to learn this game or wants to play it should contact me.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Perfection (or near)
May 16, 2003

Carcassonne: Traders and Builders improves on a near perfect game. The new builder keeps the game moving at a good pace, and the new resource element add new ways of scoring. The new tiles and rules keeps the players involved, and there is never a dull momement in this game. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Can you improve on a near-perfect game? ... Yes!
April 21, 2003

It is very rare that a game comes along that appeals to such a large cross-section of people. Adults, children, gamers, non-gamers, strategists, those who don't want to think that hard, can all play at the same time and still have fun. Very little set up time, relatively quick to play, easy to learn, plays well with 2 to 6 players, different every time, Carcassonne(with it's expansions)is a near-perfect game. Each expansion has added a new and different aspect to the game and allows you to mix and match so you can custom design just the game you are in the mood for,light or cut throat or somewhere in between. I tend to enjoy games that reward good strategy and tactics more than games of chance, this latest expansion adds a good measure of both to the game. You constantly have to decide wheather it is better to add to your projects or hinder you opponents or hopefully both.The game does take longer because there are more decisions to make and 24 more tiles added, but can still be played in about an hour(for 2 players, add @ 15 min. for each addiional player) The new tiles add alot more road ending pieces which tends to divide up the fields more.(less likely to boil down to the great and final battle for the control of the mega farm) I would like to see an extra pig or two to give them more power(or perhaps other animals, sheep or cattle to add variety but that work the same way) The builder and goods add just the right tension and increase player interaction. We always play with a 3 tile hand which allows for some real strategy in using the builder and goods. You can wait until you have the two tiles it takes to finish a city with goods and the builder in it and take the first turn to close off one end of the city then using your bonus turn finish it off and prevent your opponent from finishing it for you and collecting the goods. This expansion plays in a similar way to Hunters and Gatherers but is still a completely different game, I like them both! A definite improvement on a near-perfect game!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
this makes the game even more fun!
April 08, 2003

This new expansion pack makes the game so much more fun than it already was. Combined with the other expansion paks it gets you tons of points. I was playing my wife the other day and after blocking her out of a city that she started it got me 102 pts. and many bonus tiles that got me 20 extra pts after the game ended. It is a cool new edition to an already awesome game

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
More complexity, but more fun!
April 06, 2003

I have played nearly 100 games of Carcassonne and each time we add an expansion, the fun only increases! The new Trader Meeple is a powerful piece that makes the game even more exciting. I like the piggy even though it is not that powerful in terms of points. Most likely, the piggy will be played near the end of a game or in a locked up field since your opponent will try to knock out your newly minted pork farmer.

The components are very nicely made and fit well with the exisiting game. Just make sure you play on a large table. These landscapes can get huge!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by John M.
Great Expansion For Runaway Series!
November 02, 2008

Ok so I've actually been quoted as saying that Carcassonne has been blown WAY out of proportion, but I meant that in the nicest possible way! This series has recently culminated in the New World stand alone game, and has a new expansion out with another on the way and the Spielbox Magazine expansion also available, there seems to be no end to this snowballing giant! I've got everything that's out for the series except the latest expansion Cult, Siege & Creativity. This major expansion adds new mechanics, 24 new landscape tiles, commodities to be brokered and new meeples as well. The new landscape tiles have some interesting designs on them, while the ability to score with the commodities at end game can be the difference between a win and a loss. At first you might have trouble closing features with the commodities, but once you get used to them you'll be fine. You may even say to yourself that "I need ANOTHER set of these to make it worthwhile". I've considered that as well, however if I were to add a second T&B set, I would NOT use the second set of commodity chips, the set only gives you 9 barrels, 6 wheat and 5 textiles for a good reason, so if you're gonna add the tiles from a second set, go ahead, but keep the extra barrels, wheat and textiles as back- up units in case you loose some, there's no sense in overwhelming the game by putting double the amount of commodities available into play.

The new meeples are awesome! The builder is by far the most powerful meeple of the game, if used correctly you can quickly build huge castles and long roads for huge points. The pig can be useful too, especially if you get him, and any (or both) of the 2 "pig farms" which can potentially raise the value of your farms from 4 to 7 (both pig farm tiles and 1 pig meeple). Get this if you don't have it already, with me and my friends it's the only one of the many expansions that we always choose to play with. For the builder 2 stars, for the commodities 2 stars and for the pig 1, 5 stars, get this expansion and put it in your Spielbox!

Remember you can't score the FARM if you're not in the game!!!!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
My favorite expansion, but not for beginners...
February 12, 2005

Carcassonne: Traders and Builders is an excellent expansion to the main game. Not only does it add even more interesting tiles into the mix, but it also adds several new features that have dramatic effects upon game play. It’s my favorite expansion, as I like the options the game adds, and even can cause a lukewarm fan of Carcassonne to enjoy the game more. The expansion adds five interesting things...

1.) Cloth Bag: Okay, maybe this isn’t interesting, but it’s certainly useful. A nice blue cloth bag (with a picture of Carcassonne Castle on it) is included to draw tiles from. I guess there are a very few people who would still prefer to stack the tiles, but this bag is quite useful. The rules state that the tiles may be off a little in color, hence the bag; but I didn’t notice much, if any difference.

2.) The Builder: A little figure in each color is included to represent the “builder” - looks like a little wooden stamp. A player may place a builder, instead of a meeple, on a city or road - but only one in which they already have a meeple. On future turns, if the player extends the city/road in which the builder sits, they immediately get a free extra tile that they may place. This “double-play” can only be done once per player’s turn. If the road/city on which the builder is located is finished, the builder returns to the player just like the meeples. I enjoyed the builder addition, as it allows a clever person to put down extra tiles, giving them a great advantage. Placement of the builder is crucial, since if a player places one in the wrong location, they can end up with a builder in a spot where a road/city will never be finished, and thus lose the use of the builder for the game.

3.) New Tiles: Twenty-four new tiles are included in this set. The combinations are some of the most interesting in all the expansions, offering up combinations of cities and roads in different and unique ways. Some roads cross each other rather than intersect; other cities stretch in odd ways across the tiles. As always with all the expansions, these tiles help alleviate the power of large farms.

4.) Goods Chits: By far, the most interesting and game-changing part of the expansion is the goods chits. Twenty of the new tiles have city sections on them with an icon with one of three goods. (wine, grain, and cloth) Whenever a player completes a city by placing a tile (regardless of whether they have any meeples in the city), they receive one goods chit corresponding to each icon in the city. These chits are placed face up in front of the player until the end of the game. When the game is over, the player who has the most chits of each of the three types gains ten points for each type. Ties give the ten points to all players. This really has an impact on the game. Players now have an incentive to finish other player’s cities, because they will get goods chits. This balances the game out a bit, and adds strategy. Should I place the tile to finish my own city, scoring points for me; or should I finish another player’s city - giving them points, but netting me several good chits. This part of the expansion is worth the price of the game alone and has changed several people’s opinion of the game, as it actually decreases the luck and increases the strategy. Can’t draw that tile to finish your city? Odds are that someone else will, if you have a goods chit there.

5.) Pigs: A little pig figure (a “peeple”?) is included of each players’ color. A player may place a pig, just like a meeple, into a farm - but only on a farm where they already have a meeple. At the end of the game, the pig scores an extra point for each city that is scored by the farm. If the player doesn’t control the farm, they of course get no points. Many people have criticized the pig, saying that it doesn’t really affect the game too much. I must say that I disagree. The pig isn’t a spectacular addition, to be sure; but I’ve seen at least two games that have been decided by the points won by the pig. Besides, it’s a cool piece.

This is definitely not an expansion for beginners, as the builder rules might confuse some people. But after a couple plays of regular Carcassonne, this one should be able to be smoothly assimilated. If all the game included were the good chits, I would be satisfied - they add some simple, difficult choices to the game play, and a lot of strategy to the game. When combined with the first expansion for Carcassonne, the game suddenly becomes a whole new creature. As a basic game, it was simple, lucky, strategic and fun. With this expansion, it’s still fairly simple, yet a lot of new tiles add a decent variety; and the builder and good chits add more strategy. I like Carcassonne a lot; but when these expansions are added, my enjoyment doubles.

Tom Vasel
“Real men play board games.”

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Emory
Good, but necessary?
October 13, 2003

First of all, this is definitely a fun expansion. It adds some new twists to the basic notion of the game, as well as some important new pieces, which reflect topologies not represented in the original + 1st expansion.

That said, there are some caveats: 1) It makes the original game MUCH longer, and perhaps too long for weeknight play (we actually re-add this expansion on the weekends).

2) Some may consider it to detract from the beaties of the basic game, without adding much but complexity.

However, there's some really good things about this one that make it doubly worth buying. First is that the builder and the pig can be added without anything else from this expansion set to the basic game. These can be used to 'handicap' strong players by giving them to younger or weaker players. Also, the bag is really essential if you are adding even one expansion, never mind two (there's also no easy way to shuffle pieces without a bag).

Finally, it's $9.95!!! Don't bother debating and go buy this set if you have the basic. You can't go wrong, and it can extend the interest if you've already played he basic dozens of times, like we have.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Al
The expansion describes itself
June 12, 2003

*The trade goods are good*. The addition of the trade goods expands on the strategy of the game immensely. Instead of just trying to expand on your own city, you now have a choice, should I complete my opponents city for a grain? The only thing I didn't like was that the tile selection, for the trade goods, were all two city section sided, not much variation. It seemed to make it difficult to complete those cities. *The builders, build onto an already great game*. *The pigs, really didn't bring home the bacon*. All in all, it's an excellent expansion.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Dave
Another Great Addition
June 10, 2003

So here it is folks - if you have Carcassonne you need this expansion. It adds SO much to the game - a lot of variety, a lot of new strategy in addition to a lot of new tiles that can help get yourself out of sticky situations.

My only complaint is that there are so many new City tiles that it makes finishing large Cities a little too easy - particularly if you're playing with 'the expansion' as well. If you get a Cathedral tile you can fairly easily make a city of 75 points or more.

BUT this does not detract from this being a great expansion. Get it!!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Tim
Don't be Fooled
May 22, 2003

Don't be fooled in thinking that this expansion will allow you to play with 6 players, it only has Components for 6 players (a grey pig and builder, NOT 6 followers). You have to have the 1st expansion to be able to play with 6. The game is Great, hooked from the first time I played. Super game to share with other, learning time is very qiuck and smpile.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Adds complexity (and length!) to the game
April 06, 2003

A generally well thought-out extension that adds just the right amount of complexity to the game. The commodities increase the likelihood that someone else will choose to complete a city for you rather than try to block it. Playing the builder well can also put you at a competitive advantage.

The only piece that doesn't really work is the pig. It seems that it would function better as a 'spoiler' -- taking away points from someone's farm points as opposed to adding to your own.

Finally, expect the game to take longer to play, especially if you use both expansion sets. This is not a problem, just a result of having more tiles and more complex decisions to make about how to play them.

Bottom line, if you're a Carcassonne junkie, this extension is a must-have, and certainly well worth the ten bucks.

Note: one thing I was worried about when I purchased was that the extension would make the game too similar to Settlers of Catan. Not the case. The elements of trade and building are employed in a uniquely Carcassonne-ian way.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A nice expansion
September 23, 2004
A nice expansion, but it greatly extended the play time (especially after adding Inns & Cathedrals). So great, that we could hardly finish a game in a night. We ended up removing all these tiles from the game and save them for when we have 4 or more people who want to play. For two players, we only use the basic game along with the river and road expansion tiles.
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
not nearly as good as the original expansion
July 17, 2003

I consider Carcassonne to be my favorite game, and the first expansion (now called Inns & Cathedrals) was a great addition.

But I'm not sure if I enjoy playing with this second expansion or not.

The commodities (wine, wheat, cloth) add to the role of chance as opposed to skill.

The pig rarely has any real effect on the game.

The additional pieces are bizarre arrangements, mostly good for dividing up cities in ways the orignal game had more trouble doing. Ultimately, they create an imbalance, in my opinion, so that the end result has much more city pieces, which diminishes the role of the thief.

The one thing interesting (and perhaps good) about the expansion is the builder, which gives a bonus draw similar to the gold nuggets in the prehistoric Hunters & Gatherers game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Carcassonne: Traders & Builders:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.