My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
The Walking Dead: Card Game

The Walking Dead: Card Game

based on the television show


List Price: $15.00
Your Price: $11.99
(20% savings!)
(Worth 1,199 Funagain Points!)

This item is In Stock []
Quantity:

Ages Play Time Players
15+ 20+ minutes 2-10

Manufacturer(s): Cryptozoic Entertainment

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

The Walking Dead Card Game, based on Wolfgang Kramer's 6 nimmt!, features the same basic gameplay as that card game while adding ten character cards and two modes of play: Survival and Hero.

To play the game, you shuffle the 104 number cards, lay out four cards face-up to start the four rows, then deal a number of cards to each player. Each turn, players simultaneously choose and reveal a card from their hand, then add the cards to the rows, with cards being placed in ascending order based on their number; each card is placed in the row that ends with the highest number that's below the card's number. When the sixth card is placed in a row, the owner of that card claims the other five cards and the sixth card becomes the first card in a new row.

In addition to a number from 1 to 104, each card has a zombie point value. In Survival mode (for 3-10 players), players want to collect as few points as possible, while in Hero mode (for 2-6 players) you want to collect more zombie points than anyone else. In Hero mode, each player has a single-use character card that can give you an extra advantage in the round in which you play it.

Zoom In Cover Image: The Walking Dead: Card Game
Close Zoomed Image aThe Walking Dead: Card Gameb
Cover

Product Information

  • Manufacturer(s): Cryptozoic Entertainment

  • Year: 2013

  • Players: 2 - 10

  • Time: 20 or more minutes

  • Ages: 15 and up

  • Weight: 270 grams

  • Customer Favorites Rank: #81

You might be interested in these related products as well:
The Walking Dead Board Game: The Best Defense (Restocking)
List: $39.99 $31.99 (20% savings!)
The Walking Dead: Board Game
based on the television show
List: $39.99 $31.99 (20% savings!)

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.5 in 21 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Even more fun with more people
June 19, 2006

We had been playing this game for a few months, with just 2 players. But this last week, we got together with family and played with 4, 5, and even more (I think 8) players. It is so much better with more people. That is where this game really shines. We didn't even play anything else, but just kept playing this one. There is strategy, but it is quite a challenge to find out what it is. The best thing is that we could just play and just have fun. Wonderful game. Even better than we had realized at first.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Very fun game to play
March 10, 2006

we have liked other card games, such as phase 10, and wizard, but this new one has jumped right into our list of favorites.

it is a simple game to learn, and has more strategy than we thought at first. you have to start to think ahead and not get caught. it is different than other games, and kind of a new way to think.

it is also fun to have the hurricane info on the cards, something to look at if you get bored, which you probably won't do.

lots of fun, and a good one to add to your game pile! Have fun!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Unique gameplay is a lot of fun
February 03, 2006
Category 5 is a game I picked up with my Christmas gift certificates strictly because of the positive reviews here on Funagain. It's always been my philosophy to expect the worst so that you can be pleasantly suprised, so I tried to disregard the good reviews and not expect too much from this game.

Well, I don't think it would have mattered. I love the way Category 5 plays. It's simple, but challenging at the same time. By that I mean that the rules are simple to grasp, but the strategy can take some time to develop. Once you realize what you are doing this game flows quite nicely.

I am very excited for when I can try Category 5 with more players, as I know the strategy will become even more challenging. I don't have any other card games that play quite like this and that uniqueness adds a lot to the quality of the game.

I have read some reviews here that talk about how neat the hurricane theme is. Frankly, that just disappears to me when I'm playing. The theme feels superficial and unnecessary. But if you are interested in reading hurricane names, past and present, perhaps that's an additional selling feature for you.

I would highly recommend Category 5 to anyone who is thinking about it. The price is reasonable, and the quality of the game is top notch. I think I will enjoy this game for years to come.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great for Family and Friend Get Togethers
November 23, 2005

We were just starting to get ready for our holiday event tomorrow and were wondering what we were going to do to keep the various relatives kids entertained after our holiday dinner, when the first thing that popped into our minds was Category 5.

This is an ideal game for playing with a large group as it is quick and easy to teach everyone and you can start truly playing right away (important for kids with short attention spans).

The game is fast paced enough to keep everyone into the game, plus discussing the different hurricanes provides for a lively conversation (at least in our family).

We have enjoyed the games with young and old, those who play just for the fun and those who are strong strategists and everyone that we have played with has truly enjoyed themselves, thus making this an excellent all around versatile game for everyone to enjoy!

I would classify it as one of those must have games for your collection!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fun, interactive, great with drinks
June 29, 2005

As others have said, this is a game with easy-to-teach rules that is quick and fun to play, and accommodates large groups. It's one of a class of simple mechanic games that even after many plays, you aren't really sure if there truly is a strategy involved (Raj, High Society, and Loco are similar for me).

It seems like the first couple times you play the game, you have no idea what you really should be strategizing, and it all seems random. Then during the next several games you play, you start to think there is a strategy, and you start to feel like if you just figure it out, you'll win all the time.

Then over the next several games, you'll be convinced that there is in fact no strategy at all, and you may as well play randomly, because none of your strategizing saves you from an occasional 20+ point round.

Finally, after a lot more plays, you get to the point where you aren't sure if there's a strategy that works or not, but you don't worry about it as much. You do know that you've had a lot of fun playing.

No matter what, people really get into the game because of the simple mechanics, the "whew" of sliding in the 5th card when you thought you were 6th in a row, and the "Aaargh" of being the 6th card when you were *sure* you played a safe card.

It's a great social game, and the game subtlety changes with the number of players. A four player game is just as challenging, but different, than a 10 player game.

Get it!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Cat 5 will rock you like a hurricane
February 13, 2005

Must admit, when I played 6 Nimmt a few years ago, I was underwhelmed. I just didn't want to like it, and whenever it hit the table, I bailed. When Cat 5 was released, I knew it was the redux of 6N, but recently I have been entertaining large groups of people, so I've been on the lookout for games that are easy to teach and that can handle several people.

So I bought Cat 5 to give it another shot. Good move. This game is great! Easy to teach, fast moving, simultaneous play, very little downtime between turns, and the appeal! This game has been taught to man and woman, young and old, serious gamers and newbies, rich and poor, dogs and cats, and they ALL loved it.

I think the design on the cards is very strong too, and the facts thrown on is just a bonus. Great production value, and the best money you will ever spend. Trust me....

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A must-own game that will blow you away!
November 26, 2004

Whenever older, hard-to-find games are re- released, it is cause for excitement…and caution. It seems that many companies make poor decisions with good games, often changing the rules for the poorer. I had never heard of Pando Games till I saw Category 5, but since it is a reprint of an older favorite, 6 Nimmt!, I was cautiously optimistic. 6 Nimmt is becoming very hard to find, and I know a lot of people are looking for copies; I hoped that the Pando Games version would keep the game intact, and wouldn’t try to fix something that wasn’t broken. The verdict: GOOD NEWS! For those of you who don’t know what the heck I am talking about, I suppose I should explain what the game is. 6 Nimmt! is a game from the early 90’s by award- winning game designer Wolfgang Kramer. It is a very simple game to teach, plays in about 15 minutes, and can play 2-10 players – all of this and the game costs less than $10. And now you can get it widely in the US from Pando Games. Intrigued? Read on…

The deck of cards consists of 104 cards numbered 1-104. Each card has a different number of hurricane flags on the card, and these are BAD! (After all, you don’t really want a hurricane sweeping through your part of the country, do you?) So the object is to take as few flags as possible. Most of the cards only have 1 flag (these represent hurricanes that have not done any real devastation yet, or are scheduled for the future), other cards may have anywhere from 2 all the way up to 7 flags (representing the biggies like Hurricane Andrew, etc.) Players are dealt a hand and will play one card per round till they all run out of cards, and that ends the hand. Whoever takes the least amount of hurricane devastation wins! (I think it’s fun for every player to pick a state, and at the end, see which state takes the most damage. It’s always funny when Washington falls prey to Hurricane Andrew)

There are several variations on how to deal out, but essentially they all boil down to each player having a hand of cards and four cards being turned up in the center of the table, representing the 4 rows players will be able to play on. Now each player will secretly and simultaneously choose one card from their hand to play. Once everyone has chosen one, all players reveal their card. Starting with the lowest card, players will place their cards one at a time into the end position of a row. When it is your turn to place, you must place your card next to the card that is closest to your card in value, and lower. So if I have 35, and the end cards for each of the rows are 56, 37, 12, and 6, my 35 card must go beside the 12 card, since it is the cards that is closest in value to 35 while still being lower in value. 37 is closer in value, but is higher, so I may not play my 35 next to it. If the lowest card played is lower than any of the end cards, then that player must take one of the rows as penalty points, and place their card as the new first card in the row. Any time a player must place a card, if it is the SIXTH card in the row, they must take the previous 5 cards in that row as penalty points, and put their 6th card as the new first card in that row. Once everyone has placed their card in the appropriate spots, players play additional rounds until all the cards are gone. Player with the lowest score wins.

So in an ideal world, you will always be placing your cards in the middle of rows, never taking any penalty points. But the world isn’t ideal, and you’ll soon face problems such as: You have the 1 in your hand. That’s the lowest card in the deck, which means sooner or later you will be forced to take a row. You want to take that row when it’s only going to be –1 against you. Or: You have the 36 in your hand and the row with the 34 on the end of it has a lot of negative points and 4 cards in it. Do you try squeezing your 36 in there hoping that the person with the 35 is planning on playing a different card? Or do you put off playing the 36 for now hoping you’ll get a better chance to play it later?

The tension in this game is quite remarkable for a game so simple. At first blush it may seem rather chaotic (and with a lot of players, it is much more so), but our game group has been playing this as a closer for about 3 years, and not only are we not sick of it, but the same player tend to win over and over again, which says something about this game. Knowing when to get rid of high or low cards, or to try and squeeze in a card into the 5 spot, or to try and go “high and under” (hard to explain until you play the game) hoping to avoid the points: these are all tactics that their own right place and time. Good players will get the knack for this. But even played casually (with what we like to call the “monkey strategy”) is a blast to play. You can teach it in a minute; it plays in 15 minutes; it plays 2-10 players; and it’s cheap. The good news is Category 5 is 6 Nimmt! with different skin, but the same raucous gameplay. Except for the borderline artwork (clean but kind of ugly), Pando Games has done a bang-up job on this release, and I highly recommend Category 5 as your very next purchase of a card game. It is rare that I say this, but this is one game that should literally be in everyone’s collection. Throw out Uno and Phase 10, and pick up Category 5, and thank me later. =)

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
An easy to learn game with great replay value.
August 09, 2004

To start with the game is printed on good cardstock which is a pet peeve of mine when it comes to card games. I like the theme since I live in a hurricane prone area and can actually remember some of the hurricanes which are listed on each card. The game itself is simple to learn but definitely involves some strategic thinking as opposed to blind luck. As a gamer I personally like some of the variants suggested as they offer the chance to card-count and take the luck factor out even more. For the price you really have to get this game!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Very Addictive!
October 21, 2003

Like everyone else said...this is a quick and addictive game...very fun, light game that can be played anywhere with anyone with a very quick introduction/explanation.

I honestly think there's something wrong with the rating system...this game HAS to be ranked way higher than this! Just look at the reviews...has anyone had anything bad to say about it?

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Easy, Exciting, Entertaining
August 06, 2003

This is German game, and I recommend it from Japan, to you, American gamers. I played it with all of my family, cousins, neighbors, colleagues, and had a lot of fun. The rule is rather easy. You can tell in 10 minutes with dealing cards. But strategy is strange, and hard to master. Thus makes everyone play one more time, and more... A playing time is very short, but you always want one more play. Very addictive. The game is for 2 to 10 players, so it will fit almost every occasion.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The ideal introduction to German card games.
August 05, 2003

This game may be short on theme but it's never short of tension. A simple set of rules and the simultaneous play of cards make this a great game.

Knowing your opponents is just as important as following the numbers. Our group never tires of this one. Why this game never became as big as such an overated game as Uno here in the states is beyond me.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Very entertaining
August 02, 2003

This is a very entertaining game, that through easy dynamics becomes almost addictive. A game for everybody that loves calculated risk, but are too afraid to enter the stockmarket. Most people introduced to this game, ends up buing it.

This even works as a closer for serious gamers.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Brilliant. Works with 2-10 equally as well...
March 16, 2003

This game deserves the kudos it gets. It is great. It supports up to 10, but also 2 players well (for 2 players, cut cards down in deck to 24 instead of 104). The 2 player game is a pretty nasty tactical one, with simultaneous play leading to a bit of unpredictability.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A game with wide appeal
January 04, 2002

I just wanted to add a high rating for this addictive game. It's a great game to carry around. I brought it to several holiday get-togethers over the last few months and although it met some skeptical reaction at first (these are family and friends, not avid gamers), once everyone gave it a try, they ended up playing for hours. There may not be deep strategy, but if you're looking for a fun game with a wide general appeal, 6 Nimmt is a great choice.

What I thought particularly nice about the game is that it plays well with as few as two players and as many as ten players. There are other good points: it's easy to learn how to play; it only takes a few minutes per round; play is concurrent, so folks aren't sitting around waiting for their turn; even a beginning player can win a round; and people of all ages enjoy it. Plus, it's cheap and very portable. I highly recommend it!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Light Fun
February 17, 1998
A card game using numbers, it plays quickly and is great for children and families. Combining luck with skillful play, it's light and fun for 2-6 players.
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
Fun, fast and always different
January 14, 2007

Our family learned this quickly (which is a huge plus), and played it over and over from the very first time. We then shared it with people over the holidays, and everyone ended up liking it. The balance of strategy and luck makes it a good game to play with a mix of teens and adults, because no one can really control the game.

I ended up ordering several more to give as gifts, because it's an easy game to learn and because it's so affordable.

One slight drawback is that it's sometimes difficult to read some of the cards, especially when you're looking at them upside down. The cards can only be placed one direction, so someone is stuck looking at them upside down if more than 3 people are playing. 66 can mean a big difference to 99! If they redesign this, I'd like to see cards that are more easily read by everyone surrounding a table.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Blind Bid For Bulls!
September 13, 2001

Initially, I thought this game felt too chaotic. Generally, I like blind bidding games, but this one just seemed colorless and random. Well, too bad my game group totally enjoys this one and brings it out often. It forced me to keep looking at this game to the point where it started to grow on me. The gameplay is simple: pick a card from your hand and try to avoid playing the sixth card in a row--if you play the sixth card, you have to take the row as points, and points are bad.

Is the game fun? Well, it certainly generates a lot of groans and sighs of relief as well as banging-head-on-table syndrome. So, yes, its fun. I cant tell you why exactly, but I think it boils down to the interaction. Every time you pull a card from your hand you are pitting it against everyone else and that creates a cool tension of outguessing people. It plays quickly, is quite inexpensive, and seems to appeal to nearly everybody. The art isnt much to look at, but it isnt horrid either. A solid game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Quick, easy, fun!
August 07, 2000

After not having played this game for a while, we tried it again yesterday. As a family, sometimes it is more fun to play a quick, easy card game just for some laughs. This is one of those, but there is some thinking and strategy involved. There are choices to be made. And of course, you can play for several rounds and total points. After three rounds, the point totals for three people varied by four points. We preferred playing a game of three rounds, so that it became a little more challenging. The rules are simple and easy, so it is a good game for picnics and vacations.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Wendy
A fast and fun game!
November 14, 1999

Plays great with a large crowd. Good for mixing kids in with adults.

There's more strategy with fewer players but more players is hilarious!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Take a turn at Take 6
July 14, 1999

Take 6 is a very easy game to learn. There are 100-odd cards, each with a different number, and each with its own number of 'bull heads', which you try to get as few of as you can. Ten cards are dealt to each player. Then four cards, marking the first cards of four rows, are laid on the table. Each player selects a card from their hand and places it face-down on the table. Then everyone turns them up simultaneously. The player who played the lowest number starts, and places it at the end of the row that ends with the biggest number that is smaller than the number on the player's card. Then the player with the next-lowest number places their card, and so on.

But if the card is the sixth in the row, then the player has to take all five of the cards that were previously in the row - and scores the number of bull heads on those cards. Similarly, if the number on the player's card is smaller than the numbers at the end of all four rows, then that player must take one row of their choice.

The interrelationships of these rules can mean that what you think is a safe card may actually not be, and could land you with a ton of bull heads. The game ends, Hearts-style, when someone has gone over the limit of 66 bull heads; the player with the least bull heads wins.

Take 6 is a very simple game which is entertaining enough as a two-player game, but will be much more fun with more players. The game rules ensure that there isn't much downtime even with the maximum of ten players.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Poor card quality, mere shadow of 'Category 5'
January 12, 2008

I'm a big fan of this game 6 Nimmt/Category 5, however this new incarnation of the 'take 5' series really sucks. The theme is lame where you build slopes and create avalanches on the 5th card, the previous versions involved build-up of stormy weather (Category 5 and the dreaded 5-flag, Cat5 hurricane) and Bulls head trying to pile in steer (fun with a cow moo'er, a drinking variant I created with my group) into the corral. More importantly the card stock and quality is horrendous, I don't see how more shortcuts in production could've been taken as it is apparent this is as low as you can go. Already a handful of cards have been bendt or deformed or ripped in just one night of playing. BRING BACK CATEGORY 5!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for The Walking Dead: Card Game:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.