My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Fluxx: The Board Game
Close Zoomed Image Fluxx: The Board Game
Store:  Card Games, Family Games
Series:  Fluxx
Genre:  Beer & Pretzels
Format:  Board Games
Other:  Games for Non-gamers

Fluxx: The Board Game


List Price: $30.00
Your Price: $23.99
(20% savings!)
(Worth 2,399 Funagain Points!)

This item is In Stock []
Quantity:

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 2-30 minutes 2-6

Designer(s): Andrew Looney

Manufacturer(s): Looney Labs

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

It's more strategic than the original card game and delivers everything you'd expect from a name like Fluxx; The Board Game.

The ever-shifting landscape is made of tiles that can be rotated or uprooted elsewhere on the table.

Ti win, players must position their pieces on places shown on goal cards.

Victory requires accomplishing several goals but the exact number needed is subject to change!

Rule changes are tracked on a comprehensive new game board.

It's a game about change where everything can change - from the rules to the gameboard to the color of your pieces!

Zoom In Cover Image: Fluxx: The Board Game
Close Zoomed Image aFluxx: The Board Gameb
Cover

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Andrew Looney

  • Manufacturer(s): Looney Labs

  • Year: 2013

  • Players: 2 - 6

  • Time: 2 - 30 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 574 grams

  • Language Requirements: Game components are printed in English. Manufacturer's rules are printed in English. This is a domestic item.

Fluxx: The Board Game has the following expansions available:
Fluxx Blanxx
includes Creeper
$1.99
You might be interested in these related products as well:
Fluxx: Cartoon Network (Preorder)
List: $15.00 $11.99 (20% savings!)
Just Desserts (Preorder)
List: $18.00 $14.99 (17% savings!)

Fluxx
Version 5.0
List: $16.00 $12.99 (19% savings!)
Monster Fluxx
List: $15.00 $11.99 (20% savings!)

Holiday Fluxx
List: $16.00 $12.99 (19% savings!)

Regular Show Fluxx
List: $19.99 $15.99 (20% savings!)
Fluxx
Version 4.0
List: $16.00 $12.99 (19% savings!)

Fluxx
Version 3.1 Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 3.5 in 64 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
by Caitlin
This is the most amazing game ever
February 14, 2008

So i was first introduced to this game in an alternative school, i was obsessed with it. I forgot the name of it and i have searched for like way to long to figure out the name. Well finally i found it and let me tell you, you will loveee this gamee.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Buy it now
June 14, 2007

So, I have played this game with a 6-yr-old and a 36-yr-old and both were able to understand and enjoy. it's simple enough that a child can get it, but complex enough to keep anyone entertained. Fluxx is definitely in the top two of my favorite games!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by C Bacon
I love this game
May 04, 2005
Name another game that lets you make up your own rules? If you love a game that plays different everytime and can take 3 minutes or 30 mintues, you'll love FLUXX. Buy the blank cards and make your own rules. Take out the cards you don't like. Have fun. Don't take it too seriously.
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Unpredictable Fun
January 26, 2005

Our group of gamers loves this game. The genius is the fact that nothing can be accurately predicted. Essentially, you can have plans but if you don't complete them in one turn everything could change before you get another turn. But that is what makes it fun! We can't help but laugh when everyone has ten cards in hand and suddenly a "Play All" hits the table. How do you decide the order you want to play ten cards? Well don't think too hard, by the time it's your turn someone might play a "Hand Limit 0", and all ten cards in your hand will end up in the discard pile.

The aspect that sets this game apart as, perhaps, the best ice-breaker game ever is the late-joiner rule. If you are waiting on someone to join your group you can start playing without them. When they arrive they merely draw three cards and they are already playing. With the ever-changing rules and goals the new-comer has just as much of a chance to win as anyone else. This game is a must-try!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A different and unusual game
July 13, 2004

My kids adore this game. They are 8, 12 & 15 and it is something that keeps them all amused. I admit that I didn't understand how to play it right away, but they figured it out and taught me. What makes it so interesting is that each game is different than the one before.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Greg
If you think it's all luck you aren't trying hard enough.
April 09, 2004

I just played for the first time today, and the second and third and I lost count somewhere around ten games. I would still be playing now if everyone hadn't left hours ago.

I'm absolutely amazed reading all the reviews here that say it's a mechanical luck-based game. This is about the most cerebral games I've seen in a long time.

Sure sometimes you end up forced into playing a card, but then how did you get there? Someone played a Hand Limit 0 or Play All or whatever, and maybe that was because they had the Brain and were hoping to force you to play Brain (No TV)...

Sure sometimes your carefully laid plans can get disturbed by a complete change of rules, but then maybe they weren't such good plans if they were so fragile.

Every turn is a small puzzle (well ok, not every turn). Some games you have to remember which card to pull out of the discard pile with Try that Again, other games you have to figure out exactly which card you need to Go Fish for to prevent your opponent from winning. Other times you can force him to play the card you need to win.

Some games you and your opponent have huge hands and have a hard time figuring out what four cards to play from your hand of 12 cards. Other games the problem is figuring out what strategies work when you can only play one card per turn.

It's always different and it's always engaging. When it becomes mechanical it's never for more than a few turns before it becomes a whole new game.

And for heaven's sake, for ten bucks it's a steal. You can't buy a pack of dice for that these days.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Roy L.
Life: Not What You'd Expect
March 15, 2004

I think it's safe to say that no matter what you are expecting, this is not it. That, perhaps, accounts for the mixed reviews. This is a game not quite like any other. The rules are simple and can be learned in a matter of seconds -- but they're not. Play ranges from fast to slow. Victory conditions range from impossible to trivial. And strategy can be important or irrelevant. This game will frustrate the 'serious' strategizing with its randomness; but it the careless player with too many beers in him will loose every time (unless he's just lucky).

You really have to experience it to fully understand, but perhaps this helps: Fluxx is really a simulation of life. The goals change constantly and seemingly at random, but often under the control of other players, and sometimes under your control. The means to achieve those goals are distributed randomly and totally unfairly. The rules for achieving those goals change constantly and without any rational. The pace goes from being impossibly slow to too fast to keep up. Sometimes, everybody just gives up. Mostly the game just ends suddenly with the last person you'd expect as the winner. And in the end, the best way to win is to set a goal that matches what you have, rather than the other way around.

(Stoner Fluxx is also a great game with identical rules but a different, more explicit theme.)

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Irreverent and fun
November 29, 2003

Fluxx is an unusual card game: the cards dictate, for the most part, how the game should proceed. The rule of the game changes as each card is played--essentially anarchical and deconstructionist. It is a great party game where everyone plays for the fun and craziness of it. If you can get a lawyer, an academic, and a non-stop talker, you'll have a total blast.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A great light game for a change
August 24, 2003

This game is not intended to be serious, hardcore strategy. There's no looking forward three moves and anticipating what your opponents will do. A player can win this game on their first turn. These are not detriments; they are simply facts, and they are precisely the reason why the game is fun. Those who take this game seriously or have no patience for a light-of-heart game based on luck are not the target audience. This is an excellent game for both young and less young players, and I find it refreshing between rounds of more serious competition.

The game is easily the simplest non-traditional card game I've played. You can master Fluxx in two minutes, which is a hallmark of many Looney Labs games. The cards are straightforward and easily read with a functional yet elegant design. Fluxx is a great flagship game from a great independent game company.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A must have game for any trip to the diner or coffee shop.
June 26, 2003

Well folks I have read all the other reviews just like you have, and I have to agree with a few of the statements..'This game is not Puerto Rico' truer words have not been spoken. However every time I tell someone that is not a gamer about the wonderful world of indy games, this is the first game I show them, and 90% of them start to look into Looney Labs, and other indy companies. This is a rare 5 star game in my opinion.

PLAYING PARTS/CARDS:

The usual aviator or slightly better cardstock. Not the best on the market, but these cards can take some punishment, and in most cases they have to, since this is the game myself, and many others take everywhere.

EASE OF PLAY:

This is the single easiest game to teach that I have ever encountered. The play is simple, and as long as one person keeps any newbies straight, everyone can follow VERY EASILY.

STRATEGY VS LUCK:

Their is some strategy, but like many 'Beer and Pretzels' games, all you can do is hedge your bet, you can't use strategy to guarantee victory. I understand that many people have a problem with this, I dont, I know its a card game, and will be based on luck. In this game the strategy is not in playing cards, but in the order you play those cards. This annoys a lot of pure gamers, I understand that, but I think those people are few and far between. I love this game, and so do most people I show it to.

HOUSE RULES OR PERSONAL CHANGES:

I have played nearly 100 games so far, and I have no changes myself, just little cute things that anyone does when they get the FLUXX BLANXX, I have added Yoo-hoo so I can have Double Fudge Yoo-hoo, things like that.

OTHER THOUGHTS:

Great game, light, portable, easy to teach, takes up very little space to play (as compared to something like Burn Rate, or Mad Scientist), the best carry around everywhere game on the market. The only thing that can take its place in my pocket or bag is a regulation deck of Bicycles.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
One of the best 'light' card games out there
March 25, 2003

After reading many of the reviews below, I wanted to review this game.

Many previous reviews have compared Fluxx against games which it should not be compared. Granted, this is NO Puerto Rico. It isn't meant to be. It is meant to be a silly game to have fun with....not one to have some grand strategy to take you to victory.

When compared to games of this type, Fluxx is easily in the highest category. It offers enough variety to keep it interesting and enough crazy combinations to make it humorus. It requires very little concentration (sometimes a good thing) and allows you to focus on having a good time rather than focusing on 'what is my next move toward winning??'

Just a note - we often play with a 45 second time limit a turn to keep the 'analaysis paralysis' guys from over-thinking their cards. It keeps it going and the fun as well.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Dean
Extremely fun game for the easy-going
February 10, 2003

Fluxx is a very fun game, because of its simplicity, humor, and fast pace. Don't expect Civilization- master strategists probably won't like this game. Now, it is fairly unpredictable- a game can go for quite a while and then suddenly someone can draw a card that instantly gives them the win. But for an ice-breaking party game, a quick game for 2, or a group who wants to get a lot of games in on a game day, Fluxx is great. I was particularly impressed with the card design and the cute little illustrations. The cards are color coded, easy to read, and the illustrations are bold and easily recognizble images that create amusing puns when combined with the goal cards. Overall, a great game that is definitely not to be taken seriously or meant to wager money on.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The most fun you can possibly have in 2-20 minutes
February 02, 2003

Fluxx is the most creative, and innovative game I have ever played. If you do not have fun playing this game, then there is no hope for you. This is the most fun I have ever had, that can be contained in a box! It is completely deserving of the mensa select award. Andy Looney geniously produced the game, that is my favorite, and is the favorite of many others. I'm sure it (at least should be) will be your favorite too!!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
This game is in six words... Very Very Very Very Very Fun!
January 21, 2003

This is probably the best card game I have ever played. I first played it at camp, and we played it for hours! Up to about midnight. Constantly changing, never boring. Sometimes, if the goal is to have 10 cards in your hand, but you can only have five cards in your hand, it's HILARIOUS!

BUY THIS GAME!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great game, Much fun
January 01, 2003

From 'Draw 1, Play 1' to 'Draw 5, Play 4, Final Card Random, Secret Data, Keeper limit 3, Hand limit 2, Goal: The Appliances', This game is one of the most fun meta-games [the rules change as you play cards] I have played.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A clever, relaxed game with endless possibilities
August 16, 2002

No, Fluxx is not the most strategic game around (not many card games are). But it does require enough skillful play to keep things interesting. Yes, the game is extremely random (its name doesn't imply otherwise) but a seasoned player can take certain actions to help the randomness work in his favor. But since this game is not really about aggressive competition, that hardly matters.

This game is about relaxing with friends, not taking things too seriously, and just generally having a good time. With the Fluxx Blanxx you're even given a chance to flex your creative muscle. By creating new rules and actions, you can actually create the type of game YOU want to play (strategic, random or otherwise). I think the people who dislike this game are unaware of this fact or they're simply too unimaginative to take advantage of it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Simple - Fun - A game for everyone
April 29, 2002

Ever play a game against someone that no matter how hard you try, you always lose. Fluxx isn't that game. It's fun for everyone, and if you get tired of trying to strategize on how to make it so you win, play the game where the object is to be the player who loses.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
light hearted and fun
February 03, 2002

Fluxx is a fun, fast paced game that provides for a lot of laughs. Other reviewers here have been down on it because there is very little strategy. If I wanted a strategy game, I'd play Axis and Allies, or L5R or something designed to have some depth. Fluxx is a party game, easy to teach to non gamers and not very intimidating. This is a good game with which to relax and enjoy time with friends. Don't look for strategy, there isn't much. Just enjoy the crazy rule changes and have a good time!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Entertaining and customizable game
December 10, 2000

This game is extremely entertaining and addictive. It's easy to stay up all night playing one game after another. I particularly like that the deck comes with a blank card, (and you can order more) so you can think of your own cards to customize the deck. Create your own Goals, your own Keepers, even your own Actions. There's never a predictable game. Each time you play it gets more and more interesting as you realize the infinite possibilities, especially if you start adding cards and customizing your deck. It makes regular card games seem very boring.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Whadaya know, I just won!
November 30, 2000

This is a great game! Where else can you win by having Milk and Cookies? I have been playing since the first edition, in black an white. The key to having fun with Fluxx is to play quickly, with large groups of people... or smaller groups with one or two new-comers.

Mix a couple of decks together and play with eight people. Make sure to use the blank cards, and express your creativity: We drew the smallest finger on one card (a keeper) and made a new goal: Pinky and the Brain!

There is some strategy involved, but you may just find yourself emerging from behind to say 'Hey, whadaya know, I just won!'

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
More fun than firing Meatloaf from a Blunderbuss
September 02, 1999

I played FLUXX once... and now I MUST own it. If you like Chaos and Confusion this is a game for you.

Get it... Play it... Laugh 'til you get a nosebleed.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A fast game of ever-changing rules
June 22, 1999

The rules start simply: draw one card, play one card. Then it gets interesting.

There are four types of cards:

  1. New Rules allow you to change the rules of the game and they take effect immediately.
  2. Actions let you do something interesting and are all described on the card.
  3. Goals - describe the current winning conditions like 'milk and cookies' or 'rocket to the moon' which generally refer to:
  4. Keepers - These cards have items on them such as Chocolate, The Brain, Peace, Television, and Love. They are played in front of you and used to satisfy the goal conditions.

This is a fast-paced game where things are constantly changing. Up until the last second anyone can win, so there is no sitting around playing out a game that you have no chance of winning.

I've gotten a bunch of friends and family addicted to this game just by playing it with them a couple times. I also carry a copy in my purse for those gaming emergencies.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Very unique, fun, simple to learn game
September 16, 2006

I love this game! It's fun, easy to learn and the game is very quick (I think each game was only 10-20 minutes or less if I recall when we played with friends, I don't own a copy yet). The idea of changing the rules of the game as you go is so creative and unique. And the various goals and cards are cute, they have quite a sense of humor to them.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Good in diverse groups
July 12, 2003

Fluxx is a light, fast, easy-to-explain game with a great deal of variety and quick average play times. It won't break your budget, and is highly portable to boot.

So why not 5 stars? Primarily because the extreme variety sometimes leads to extremes in play. Nine cards in hand with Play 4 can be agonizingly slow, and Hand Limit 0 under Draw 1, Play 1 is both mindless and tedious. But those occurrences are part of the price of the delightful chaos. Over the long run it all evens out.

I have found Fluxx to be very successful in mixed audiences of gamers and non-gamers, among a wide range of ages. It's a game I like to carry on the road.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Original idea
April 19, 2003

When I initially heard about Fluxx, I thought it would be complicated. But after trying it out for myself, I found the game to be rather simple and completely unique. It's a fun and great card game for family and friends game nights...a unique substitute for the usual card games because it's a different game everytime you play. I highly recommend it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
3.0 changes are for the better.
March 20, 2003

All in all, I think the changes made in the third edition improve what is already a short, fun game. Cards that had limited use in the second edition (e.g. the bonuses, Final Card Random) have been replaced with cards that are more useful (new bonuses, First Play Random). All keepers are now used in more than one goal.

If you didn't like the 2nd edition, you probably won't like the 3rd; the changes are not that significant.

Should you get the 3rd edition if you already have the 2nd? If your cards are worn out, or you're a big fan, yes. Otherwise, I'm not entirely sure if it's a $10 improvement. You STILL can't take the game seriously, but it's a fun way to fill a few minutes.

Its important to note that the card size and backs have NOT changed. Therefore, if a card that you really like has been removed, you can put it in with the new set.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Simplistic? You bet! Addictive? Right again!
December 21, 2002

Positive: Addictive. Very easy to learn and enjoy quickly. This makes for a good party game, or a game to play while just chillin' with some friends. There is just enough lateral movement in the rules to make each game distinct and interesting, but not enough to really slow it down. Easily transported to bring with you anywhere. They make blank cards for you to write your own funny card combinations, which is a must once you have played the game to the point of boredom.

Negative: It CAN be played to the point of boredom. I have found myself sitting out of games at parties when people pull it out, and I am known to be a gaming freak. Or perhaps this only means that I am getting old. :) For those with less bright, or perhaps inebriated, people playing, figuring card combinations out when they find themselves with 10 cards in their hand can be painful and time-consuming to watch.

Verdict: Buy it. It has spread like fire through the circles that I travel in, and it is not expensive. As I said above, it is a great socializing game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A good game if you're willing to relax.
July 09, 2002

This game has skill only in the order you play cards, after that, its random. you can have skillful plays, but they may or may not help you in the end.

A perfect game for an evening of chatting and goofing off with friends.

No one wins every game, no one goes away angry. and with 2-3 minute games theres always time for a rematch.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great light game
November 13, 2001

Fluxx doesn't take itself too seriously, and doesn't pretend to be more than it is: a light card game with a touch of strategy. It makes a great stocking-stuffer for your cousin who's never really gotten into games.

Also, you can now get packs of blank cards with the color-coding already in place, making Fluxx one of the most easily customizable games I can think of.

Fluxx roxx!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
'Calvinball' in a Card Game
October 20, 2001

In reading the other reviews here for Fluxx, I'm struck that one will either love this game or hate it. Those who like to play relatively short, lighthearted games with a radically different concept will enjoy this game immensely. Gamers who only appreciate games with structure and conceptual depth will not likely take to this game--that seems to be the consensus here. This is one for those who think 'out of the box'.

The primary basis of this game is that the rules change, and hence it is not a good choice for control freaks. This game is best described and thought of as a card game version of 'Calvinball'. (Readers of Bill Watterson's late comic strip Calvin and Hobbes will instantly know what I'm talking about.) With frequent changes in rules and win criteria, the game's playing style is entirely tactical. Taking time to develop a win strategy will result only in frustration--play for the moment, don't think too far ahead.

But hey, it's cheap, it's fast, and it's different; just play it for fun and enjoy yourself!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Jim L
Great 'light' game.
September 09, 2001

This is a fun, light game to play, especially in between two 'heavy' games (e.g. you're at a con and want a break between Diplomacy and [page scan/se=0431/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Axis & Allies). This game is not a game for those who are intent on winning every game they ever play. There is a fairly high level of randomness to it, but no more so than most traditional (i.e. poker deck) card games. I wouldn't recommend it if it's gonna break your budget, but if you're looking for that something extra, look here! Replayability is high only if you space it out. Playing 10 games in a row WILL get old fast. Playing 10 games over two months will NOT get old unless you just plain don't like these kinds of games.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A great diversion from work, study, etc.
March 02, 2001

Fluxx was never meant to be a deep strategy game. It's the kind of game that you throw in the coat pocket and pull out on a Friday 2 hours before quitting time. I'll admit the game certainly has a better flair when there are 3+ players, but the reviews saying the game is all luck sound bitter. The best turn in Fluxx I was ever a part of was in a 3-player game where one player managed to use two turns to cycle through about a quarter of the draw deck. The advantage was amazing at that point. Losing was a given, but it's a fluff game, meant to kill time and provide laughs. Teaching a new player how to play in less than a minute is Fluxx's real advantage.

The only disadvantage to Fluxx is that it is shipped with only one blank card and more blank cards are 0.10/each. Shipping alone makes that get expensive per blank card. Play the game, invite friends, have a few laughs.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Lots of fun, and it DOES have skill.
December 06, 2000

As I look through all these reviews, people say time and time again that Fluxx is completely luck. They aren't even close. What makes it feel like luck is that while you are busy strategizing your next move, there is a very good chance that someone will do something that throws your plans completely askew. You'll need to remember what has happened and what is yet to come, which Keepers go with which to create goals (if you have Cookies, Death, The Pyramid, and The Moon out on the table, you still can't win even though it looks like you're doing quite well), how to sequence cards when a lot are being played (it makes a BIG difference) and a host of other little fiddly things that can help you hit that goal. It's a great game to play if you need something to kill time or liven up a party, it's just about perfect. The time it takes and the situations that come up lend themselves well to those settings. On the other hand, if gaming is life to you and you have to perfect every single game you come across, forget it. You'll think it's just a worthless game without any skill.

Now if you don't mind, I need to draw 5 cards... it's Play All, Final Card Random ;o)

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
This Game is Bonkers with Cards
December 05, 2000

Remember the game This Game is Bonkers!? It was a game where you traveled around a board and had to place a tile for every space you landed on. The tiles would tell you how many spaces forward and backwards you would have to travel when you landed on it. After awhile, you'd have elaborate paths to take as you tried to land on scoring spaces. The game didn't have very much skill, but the gimmick made it fun.

Well, Fluxx is similar to that in that the game may use hardly any skill... the mechanics of keeping up with your turn make it fun.

Trying to remember where you are after you'd drawn five, played three, drawn two more for the cards you just played and then playing your final card before having to discard down to zero is a hoot.

Anyways, what else do you expect from a company that calls themselves 'Looney Games'?

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Jim
Not for those who find chess to be too frivolous
December 04, 2000

This game is perfect for families, or groups of friends who don't mind laughing at and with each other. While it can get irksome if played too much in too short a time, the completely random aspects of game play (what another reviewer decried as 'luck') make this a game one which truly is never played the same way twice. Plans are best kept flexible; the card you want will probably show up when you no longer need it, but by then, you'll have made other plans. Children are particularly good at this, as they are with Skip-Bo and Uno, because they don't think the same as adults. If you have youngsters under 14, prepare to be embarrassed. In any case, enjoy a really good game!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
In Defense of Fluxx
December 02, 2000

Much has been said of this game below, so I will try not to reiterate. Fluxx is a simple party-type game that is quite fun. However, if one overplays this game it can get old. This game is not for the 'serious gamer' (read: game snob), so if you are a 'serious gamer' perhaps you should just pick up another [page scan/se=0041/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Settlers expansion and leave this one be.

Buy it. Play it. Bring it to parties.

Just don't overdo it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by David
Pick up a card, Play a card
March 30, 2000

One rule: pick up a card then play a card. How do you win? Don't know yet. How you win is on the cards played and it changes quickly. The rules also are constantly changing. Draw 2, play 5, limit hand size, force blind play, steal cards, make chocolate milk. This game is pure chaos at its finest. Games can last 60 seconds or 10 minutes and repeated playings are mandatory. It is fast and furious and sometimes frustrating but always fun.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Rules? What rules?
August 29, 1999

To say that Fluxx is simple would be an understatement. The entire starting rules fit onto one regular-sized playing card. All the other rules you make up as you go along.

Fluxx is similar in some ways to the classic metathinking game, Nomic. In Nomic, the participants invent new rules which will help them to win. Fluxx has much the same idea, except that the rule changes are written on cards that you play from your hand. This simplification makes Fluxx much more accessible than Nomic (which is reputed to be close to impossible for most of the populace). A typical rule change might be 'draw three', so that instead of drawing one card, each player draws three cards at the start of each turn.

At any stage in a game, there is one goal in play. The instant someone satisfies the condition of the goal, that player is the winner. Goals usually relate to 'Keeper' cards, cards which you play to the table in front of you. A typical goal might be 'chocolate and milk'; if you have both the chocolate Keeper and the milk Keeper, you win.

Fluxx is aptly named; the game's outcome is never known until someone announces, 'I win!' Goals change rapidly in the game as players play new goal cards to replace the old goal. A player who is apparently in the lead with six or seven Keepers can be instantly reined back with a 'Keeper limit zero' card. A game could be over in one turn, or it could last for 15 minutes or more. It is this uncertainty that makes Fluxx a great party game, since skill and strategy have very little bearing on the final result.

If you buy this game, make sure you get the second edition. The second edition of Fluxx features colour cards which are easier to read and hold in your hand. The first edition cards were printed in black and white.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Brad N.
Unique - it changes all the time
January 22, 2007

This game drew me in because it changes all the time. It's a bit wild and if you are the person that has to win with strategy to be happy then it isn't for you. It does require some strategy, but every once in a while the whole game is flipped upside down and you feel like you are starting over.

This is a fun two player game... especially if you're in a mood where you don't want to think too much. We used to play this a ton and we still take it out every now and then.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Can last too long!
December 05, 2004

Sometimes this game is a lot of fun to play. It is totally random and there is very little strategy but the right group can have fun with it. The main aspect which keeps this game from getting a higher review it that it can sometimes take an hour to finish one game. This has happened to me twice out of 4 games and now I don't want to play it anymore.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by D Lopez
When taken seriously, it's a disaster.
June 19, 2002

I'm not sure what some people expect from Fluxx. Right at the outset, simply by reading the rules, you'd think someone would know what they're getting into, but still, there are the Fluxx bashers. Nowhere on the box for Fluxx does it say 'this is a strategy game in which you must formulate complex tactics to crush your opponents.' By simply reading the description of the game, virtually ANYONE should get the gist that this is a non-serious, light, goofy offering not intended to remotely approach an evening of Chess. Instead, Fluxx is a clever experiment with wildly changing rules and very low odds of winning by intention. You can try and shift the odds in your favor, but that probably won't work for long. As the term goes, this is a 'beer-and-pretzles' game..i. e. very little thought, and light rules. Thus, one should review this game from the proper mindset. Trashing Fluxx for not having any strategy or its element of randomness is a bit like reviewing Hamlet and saying 'I didn't laugh once! What's the deal!'

Perhaps the best praise for Fluxx is that it's very portable (just a deck of cards) and plays like a solid party game with as little as two people. Admittedly, some elements of the game lost their sheen after awhile, but that's when coming up with your own cards comes in.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Sean
Fluxxtastic.
December 18, 2001

Fluxx is a good game to show to 'non-gamers'. I just showed my wife how to play Fluxx; she beat me 3 times in a row and now she's happy!

Apart from memorizing which cards have been played, the real focus is on choosing the order in which to play the cards in your hand. Play every turn like it might be your last and you should enjoy it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The world's most mindless cardgame (tm)
May 07, 2001

You see the one line summary. Now you have a feel for what the game is like. It is a simple game of playing cards to change the rules so you can win. The game almost plays itself. I like it a lot, and casual non-gamers also like it. Not much in strategy or skill here, but its quirky mindlessness is fun as a change of pace.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
As light fun, it works.
April 30, 2001

Fluxx is a neat little card game that fits in the same category as Apples To Apples. Play it at parties, on those rained-out vacation days, in the school cafeteria, or to fill in a few loose minutes in a gaming session--but don't take it too seriously. Given enough time, I'm sure one could thoroughly study the cards and develop winning strategies based on card combinations and probabilities. But, why?

It's light, it's quick, and it's fun. Enjoy it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A Blast! But this dwindles with time.
June 20, 2000

Fluxx is a GREAT game to introduce to friends and to enjoy for a bit, but the arbitrary victory conditions make victory feel like a fluke. At first this won't matter, but with time, you will recognize your control of the game is too random to provide any serious challenge. But those first 10 or 20 playings will knock your socks off.

Buy it, and pass it on.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
?? Huh ??
April 06, 2006

The first game was enjoyable all the way until you realize that all of your planning doesn't matter. Who wins the game is just a random event. I guess that's why they call it Fluxx...

Anyhow, it is a pleasant passtime for 20 minutes but I have played two games of Fluxx that went on for about an hour (or more). The second one we just decided to quite because we had all gotten exasperated with the game.

So the game is pleasant to begin with, but in the end it is not very satisfying.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Random fun until...
May 10, 2005

the randomness includes having the game last well beyond it welcome. Fluxx can be a fun game for 15 - 25 minutes, but beyond that, it gets very very very very very very very very very very very tedious. To begin with, you get the impression that you have some control over how the game is going which makes it interesting. But the truth is, your fate has more to do with the cards that other people have than the cards tha you have. That is not such a bad deal as long as you are having fun. The problem is that the game often goes on for 45 minutes to an hour by which time 60% of the people want to stop playing but a few people are dead set on trying out the new strategy that they've been preparing for the last 10 minutes.

A word of caution: if you play this game, decide ahead of time when the game ends so that it doea not become one of those never ending mightmares.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
More interesting to analyze than play
February 03, 2004

Fluxx has some interesting concepts, like dynamic winning conditions and the nonexistence of events (ie., you win if a card hasn't been played), but ultimately the strategy is crude, the gameplay is unbalanced, and your friends and family may find it irksome and confusing. The winning strategy is to play your cards in a way that lets you get as many new cards as possible. With a little bit of luck, you can win the game on the first round. So the game is a bit chaotic, meaning sometimes the game is over in the first round, other times it takes a lot of rounds. Also it requires an open mind to enjoy, and non-gamers are likely to find the way in which the rules changes irksome and confusing.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
'Oh, was that it?'
March 20, 2002

This game has really no skill element at all, but teases you into thinking that you're a participant, rather than a portable stand for the random cards. Every game I played ended with someone slapping down some cards and another player being dully surprised to find out they won (often after a third player pointed it out to them). No one cared enough about the play or the outcome by the time it was done. In fact, we managed to play a game where two of the players were completely wasted, one of whom was rarely even present. We would play his hand blind for him, and when he eventually wandered back in from the other room, he took one look at his hand, slammed down a card and drunkenly bellowed 'I WIN!'. And, er, he had. Whee.

Every time I play, we get the same feeling, the same reaction. Whee. It's as strategic as a game of War, but with an added pleasure of tedious rule-debate!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Ron
Great at first.. but then.. not.
October 22, 2001

I really loved Fluxx the first time I played it. It was wild, original, and, well... looney. I played some more, and it held up--great fun with any bunch of people.

And then I bought it. It started getting requested often by my friends. And it started getting very tedious. Despite the 'ever changing rules', every game started feeling exactly the same. Optimizing your hand felt obvious, and the winner seemed even more random than I'd thought. But even that would be OK, if it were still fun. (Similar criticism could be given to Guilliotine, and I still find it fun to play.)

Fluxx is no longer fun for me. I'm not really sure why. But I've decided never to play it again, if I can help it. I think people should play it at least once, but it just doesn't hold up in the long run. And the experience has soured me on similar games like Democrazy and Chrononauts. If you want to play a game with truly ever-changing rules, go with Nomic.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Way too silly and random for my taste
August 19, 2001

I've played Fluxx quite a few times, but it's definitely not my kind of game. I give it two stars only because I am actually willing to play it occasionally.

I like a game with strategy, a game where it's actually possible to imagine that one is building toward a goal. In Fluxx, the rules change constantly and unpredictably, requiring you to discard your hand, throw away your 'keepers', or play cards you don't want to play.

While I agree that Fluxx has a place as a short, silly game (I usually play it while waiting for other members of a gaming group to finish their game so we can reshuffle players or go to dinner), I'd almost always rather play Guillotine.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
MENSA award? What WERE they thinking?
April 27, 2001

Fluxx is a game that people either love or hate, and seem equally divided in these two camps. I neither love nor hate it, but see it as an interesting exercise in meta-gaming. Meta-gaming refers to games that are as much about the play of the game and playing with the rules of the game as they are about winning. Cosmic Encounter is perhaps the most shining example of this. Proteus, from Kadon Enterprises, takes this into the realm of tic-tac-toe with bizarre results. Democrazy, from prolific designer Bruno Faidutti, takes meta-gaming into the realm of party game. The purest form of mata-game is perhaps Nomic, which is not a commercial product at all, but a rules set available at a number of sites on the Internet. The rules of each of these games change with the playing of the game, and only certain rules are in effect at any given time.

Fluxx is a good little introduction into what is easily one of the most interesting and least-understood genres of gaming. If you like Fluxx, I would recommend any of the games mentioned above as a further stepping stone. Fluxx is not a great game, but has some very good ideas that could bear some fleshing out.

And the MENSA selection committee should be ashamed of themselves. There are a lot worthier games than Fluxx.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fun at first... but then breaks down.
February 11, 2000

This game seemed incredibly fun at first. Fast paced, easy to learn, everything you'd want for a casual game to show friends who aren't really gamers. Due to its short game length (5 minutes) I even managed to get in 10 or 15 plays, which I don't manage for many games. After playing for a while, however, it seemed to wear pretty thin. The winning conditions are almost completely without skill--strategy for this game is to lay out a bunch of cards on the table (keepers) and then hope that someone either is forced to play the victory conditions that match your cards, or you happen to draw them to play. Experienced players also have an incredible advantage over new players because they know the possible combinations that can win, whereas new players are just keeping cards at random; this problem tends to resolve itself in about three hands, but it's still there and I find myself handicapping myself a lot against new players. Further, the game usually has a good pace but if you manage to get stuck with a poor set of rule cards on the table--which seems to be pretty easy to do--the game can bog down terribly into the 'no fun' territory. If you play this as an utterly mindless, beer & beer game (not even beer & pretzels), you might enjoy this. But I'd rather have a bit more meat in my games.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Good potential. Horrible play.
December 13, 2008

We bought this game a few years ago. 3 adults tried to play it 5 times. Pretty awful play.

The premise of the game is good and should have been fun with twists and turns at every card. And it was. However, you can end up with contradictory cards out at the same time. The game came to a complete stop every time. It wasn't fun anymore. We spent a long time just trying to figure out which rules we were supposed to be following.

Even when the game play was working, it wasn't that much fun.

For the money spent and the playability, this game is awful. We would have had a much better time with Bohnanza or Settlers or Acquire.

Don't bother with this one.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Rich S.
The game is complete randomness
February 08, 2005

I don't know who is rating this game as a 5. It must be the manufacturer because no one in their right mind would call it a 5. The game is complete randomness. Here are 2 other comments I've heard of this game:

I was at a store recently where an acquaintance of mine was thinking about picking this up. A mutual friend described the game to him in the following way. "Instead, why don't we give each of the four of us a number 1-4, then roll a six sider. Which ever number comes up, that person wins, if a five or six is rolled, we will just say we are frustrated and quit the game."

and

"Playing this game is something akin to being stuck in a small room with Bob Saget, Gilbert Gottfried, and Jar Jar Binks."

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Dave O
Kiss ten bucks good-bye!
February 01, 2004

Your ten bucks are better spent on ANY of the 7,225 (that's right, seven THOUSAND) games listed on the Funagain site under $10.00.

You might have more fun just rolling some dice to see who can get the highest roll. This game is totally dependant on luck.

Seriously. Invest in Yatzee.

The glowing 5 star reviews in this list are a sad sign of people trying to justify their losses - 'since I blew 10 bucks on this, it must be good!'

Out of 1416 games ranked on www.boardgamegeek.com, this one ranks a 1250, ahead of such losers as 'Pokemon', the 'Simpsons Trivia Game', 'Life', 'Candyland', 'Mad Gab', 'Skip Bo', but behind winners like 'Quiddler', 'Chez Geek', 'G.E.V', 'Euchre', etc.

Do some research, for your own sake, before dropping ten bucks on this dog.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Try before you buy. Seriously. You have been warned.
June 03, 2003

While the concept sounds interesting (a game whose rules are simple, yet different in how they interact every time), this is a game that you'll like, or really not like. Despise, maybe. For the simple reason that the play can never end, and there is absolutely no planning or interesting choices to be made, since the rules will change when it comes your turn again. And your chance of winning? Only improved if you draw the right card. An exercise in luck. Avoid.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by YIN
The Monkey Game
May 26, 2002

Although the entire family plays, enjoys, and relishes FLUXX, we are always entertained by our

5 year old sons comment...'MOMMY, the artwork on this game looks like it was drawn from a MONKEYS BUTT'...unfortunately, I cannot understand why the creators (for whatever reason) of this clever/silly game didn't perform professionally on this front.

We've heard from many people that this game is 'broken'...BUT, the only thing that appears broken is the artwork...until we see an improvement we'll have to proudly give FLUXX a ONE star rating!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Cindy
GOAL... Don't waste your TIME or MONEY!
May 20, 2002

FLUXX is a mindless excercise in drawing cards.

I could have more fun watching a Random Number Generator than playing this pointless game.

Gameplay becomes slow and tedious while watching other players sort through a fistfull of cards

trying to decide which one to play.

If you like wasting your TIME & MONEY, then by all means give FLUXX a try.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Pure Luxx
June 18, 2001

This game is an OK way to fill time while waiting for people to show for a real night of fun, but standing on it's own, the game has very little merit.

Each game ended the same way; the rules eventually got to the point where everyone was simply playing every card they picked up. Try as you might to create some sort of strategy, it was impossible.

The winning player was the person lucky enough to draw a Goal card containing keepers he had in play. If you appreciate good depth of strategy, I give it a strong recommendation to avoid.

If, on the other hand, you're the type of person that enjoys endlessly playing War, by all means, pick it up.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Avoid this game
May 02, 2001

I usually try to avoid writing a bad review about a game. 'To each his own' is my motto. Just because I don't like a game, doesn't mean someone else won't find it enjoyable. However, when it comes to Fluxx there were two reasons why I had to make an exception. First, the overall rating for this game is pretty high and I would hate to see someone waste his or her money on this game like I did. Second, this is a game that had great potential, but was ruined by a flaw in the game mechanics. And in my book that is unforgivable. The major problem with Fluxx is that the mechanics of the game cause players to have very few cards in their hand, making it impossible for someone to put together a long-term strategy. There have been many times when I had to play a card that would change the rules simple because it was the only card in my hand. A chimp could handle that kind of decision making. If you are looking for a game the uses the concept of ever-changing rules, I recommend Democrazy. It blends the chaotic nature of this type of game with true strategic elements. But as for Fluxx, AVOID THIS GAME.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Suxx
December 02, 2000

The first time I played Fluxx, I liked it. I bought it shortly after that. I now wish I hadn't. It's totally pointless, thoroughly based on luck. It gets very boring very fast. I prefer games that have some element of skill; Fluxx is 100% based on luck. If you've played this one once and liked it, I would strongly recommend playing it on a few more occasions before shelling out the money for it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Replaybility isn't key with this game.
November 30, 2000

Fluxx is quick, fast paced, and easy to learn. However over time, the game quickly loses its luster. As you continue to play the game, you find quite a bit of the gameplay is rather deterministic.

Most people that I know that have played the game just once do not want to play it again, because it just got that boring that quickly.

If it were cheaper, I'd say buy it, play it once, and toss it, but it's just not worth its price in my opinion.

A definite pass.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Sucks
November 30, 2000

I would give it no stars, but they wouldn't let me. This game has no point, no skill, just the hope that soon someone will win so you can play another game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Fluxx: The Board Game:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.