My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.
Store:  Strategy Games, Card Games
Series:  Essen 2013 Releases
Genre:  Role Choice
Format:  Card Games



Your Price: $11.99
(Worth 1,199 Funagain Points!)

This item is out of stock indefinitely []. You can still add the item to your cart and we will ship it to you as soon as it becomes available! We do not expect it within the 30-day period for .


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
12+ 45-60 minutes 3-4

Designer(s): Marcel-Andre Casasola Merkle

Manufacturer(s): Adlung Spiele

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

This board game masquerading as a card game is about a conflict between two factions, the Rose and the Eagle. In each turn, players attempt to change the allegiance of one land district, contributing power cards to swing the conflict in their favor. Players also choose roles such as Diplomat, Traitor, and Builder that give them special abilities for that turn. The most potentially devastating role is that of the Verräter, or Traitor, which allows the player to change allegiances just as the conflict begins. Points are awarded for winning over districts, for taking certain roles, and for building counting-houses.

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Marcel-Andre Casasola Merkle

  • Manufacturer(s): Adlung Spiele

  • Year: 2013

  • Players: 3 - 4

  • Time: 45 - 60 minutes

  • Ages: 12 and up

  • Weight: 111 grams

  • Language Requirements: Game components contain foreign text that does not impact play. An English translation of the rules is provided.

You might be interested in these related products as well:
2013 (Restocking)

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 4.1 in 8 reviews

Sort reviews by:

Portable Board Game
May 09, 2005
This game gets 5 stars because of the value you get for the price. The game is fantastic, but at a normal board game price, I may have only given it 4 stars (which is still high for the way I rate games). The art is spectacular, the mechanics are novel (although borrowed by Bruno for Citadels), and the political ingrigue very cleverly balanced.
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
No better gaming bargain on the market
June 11, 2001

My friends and I have played this game many, many times. I cannot tell people enough what a great deal this game is for the money. Wonderful and difficult strategic and tactical choices. Some cooperation but also backstabbing galore. Bluffing is also needed in this game. And it plays as well (yet differently) with 3 or 4 players. When you're buying one of those big expensive boardgames, throw this one in the order and you won't be sorry.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Backstab your friends!!!!
February 10, 2000

What could be more fun than backstabbing some good buds? Verrater allows you to do this. What's more is unlike most deep strategy games, Verrater comes in a pocket-sized package! This is because it's a card game. It's so portable that I bring it to school every day for lunch!!! This game is a MUST BUY if you enjoy a bit o' strategy!!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Great portable game
May 13, 2002

This is a great one if you are travelling and can't spare a lot of room. Gameplay is fast and competitive. Players have lots of options both to choose for themselves and to affect other players. Everyone seems to enjoy the short term alliances that you create. We have played this with casual gamers and it is always enjoyed.

During the game, each player chooses a different role each round. Each role has it's advantages, but none is overwhelmingly strong. There is some randomness (in that not all roles are available in each round), but this keeps things from getting to intense IMHO.

Bottom line: fun, social and fits in your pocket.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
This Dynamite Comes in a Very Small Package
September 26, 2001

Verrater is a commonly overlooked German gaming gem. This simple pack of cards contains my favorite game artwork. More importantly, it contains an interesting combination of turncoat and subterfuge--much more game than you would expect from its humble size.

Gamers familiar with Ohne Furcht and Adel should note that Bruno Faidutti borrowed the 'hidden character' mechanic from Verrater. (Character cards allow players a specific action. To begin a round a card is randomly removed. The first player then looks at the selection, picks his character and then passes it to the next player who does the same, etc.) This element adds suspense and keeps players second-guessing their opponents' plans throughout the game (in both of these games).

If players are familiar with the rules, this game could be considered a strong option when looking for a 45 - 60 minute game with substance. Though this game can be played with three, I do not strongly recommend it.

Overall, I would rate this game a 4.5.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Gary
For quick intense fun, you can rely on this one.
August 23, 2001

This is a good little game. I especially like that you collaborate with other players but ultimately are playing only for yourself. It has plenty of suspense generated by more than one mechanic: the traitor card, the conflict outcomes, short term vs. long term commitments. The rotation of the 'starting player' position ensures that everyone has a chance to set the agenda for a given round. This is crucial because the very first starting player of the game has a noticeable advantage in determining the conflict site, a decision that players of the 'other' house must take away on a subsequent turn if they are to have a better chance at winning.

Although it can be played by three people, my initial experience with this number is that the two-against-one situation dooms the solitary player to a catch-up position that is too hard to overcome: four players is clearly best for this game.

The starting player position passes around the table twice, and the game is then over. This keeps it a short but intense battle for victory. We all wished that the game were even longer, which we don't typically desire when playing this deep of a game! Perhaps the only flaw with the game is a very minor one with the initial set-up. The random distribution of landscape cards can lead to either not enough conflict sites or too many clearly uneven disputes: we either reshuffle or make appropriate changes. All in all, a model of efficient play and design that fits in your back pocket.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Is there an award for Best Bang for the Buck?
March 23, 2000

'Verrater', aka Traitor, packs an amazing amount of fun in a tiny box. It is played with cards, but does not resemble any other card game I have encountered. The decription of this being a 'war game played with cards' is a little misleading, as it is much more acccessible than most war games.

Verrater is a game of conflict between two rival factions, the Eagle and the Rose, with players allying now with one, now with the other. Alliances are fleeting, as each player has the opportunity to turn coat and join the opposition.

There are several novel mechanics in this game, especially the use of the six action cards, which dictate what powers the players have for the current turn. As goals change for each player, so does the relative value of each of the six roles available.

If this game has a drawback, it is simply that the game can only be played by 3 or 4 players. The box is the size of an average deck of cards, so I recommend buying it and sticking it in your pocket. Who knows when you will find 2 or 3 people ready for some good back-stabbing fun?

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Far too random
May 10, 2005

I saw the 5-star review of this game linked from the homepage and had to come see if I had missed something when we played.

It's been a little while since we've played, so I'm a little rusty on the details, but I do know that we stopped playing after just a couple games because it was just too random. The traitor role was a spoiler, and in our experience made it irrelevent which roles other players chose. Players couldn't very well use strategy when choosing roles - you just sort of pick one and let the turn play itself.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Verrater:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.