My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Babel
Close Zoomed Image Babel

Babel

Z-Man Games Edition


List Price: $29.99
Your Price: $23.99
(20% savings!)
(Worth 2,399 Funagain Points!)

This item is In Stock []
Quantity:

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 45-60 minutes 2

Designer(s): Uwe Rosenberg, Hagen Dorgathen

Manufacturer(s): Z-Man Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

In Babel, building the highest temples will make you the ultimate leader, the most feared out of all the land. Use your disciples wisely on your construction sites, but beware, your opponent will try to convince your workers to betray you and even destroy all of your hard work! In this subtle game where hand management, placement and he importance of knowing when to move your workers from one structure to another meet, Babel is very interactive…this means war!

Zoom In Other Image: Babel
Close Zoomed Image aBabelb
Other

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Uwe Rosenberg, Hagen Dorgathen

  • Manufacturer(s): Z-Man Games

  • Year: 2014

  • Players: 2

  • Time: 45 - 60 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 588 grams

  • Language Requirements: Game components are language-independent. Manufacturer's rules are printed in English.

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 3.8 in 8 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Brutality of Near Biblical Preportions!
April 12, 2004

The mix of Uwe Rosenberg innovation and the excellent production values of Kosmos yield a a winner! Uwe has knack for applying the slightest tweaks to standard card play which take his games to the next level. Here was a game where upon first play, I was just waiting for the game to break. But it is along these lines that the tension grows. After a few plays, this game now always comes to a heated conclusion. Very much possessing an in your face and take that style of play. If you don't like that sort of thing, this probably won't change your mind. But me and my friends love it!

In my top three Kosmos 2 player games, Babel rates below Hera and Zeus and above Hellas. This is a game which seems like it will never bet old for me!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Amnon
My favorite 2 person game. Easy rules, deep play
December 24, 2002

I am suprised to not see more stars in the reviews of this game. The strategy is deep and facinating, without being brain-bustingly painful to plan a good move. It has great components of managing resources, managing risk, balancing offense and defense, and punishment for overextension. Best of all, it isn't excessively complicated. It has enough luck to keep things interesting, but strong play will win. Games seem to last the perfect amount of time, and it is usually a close, hard-fought match up to the end. The end usually comes pretty suddenly, so you don't have a painful slow finish. While the game is on however, your game position usually isn't hopeless, so it is still fun to play when you are not winning. This is my favorite 2 player game!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A heated game!
November 23, 2002

When I first saw Babel in a booklet I was interested. Now I have It I love it! You can't really plan ahead a lot because the situation changes every turn but that's okay for me. You have like endless things to do but... so does your 'enemy'. Because that's how you will feel about the other if he is tearing down your 6 layer temple you worked so hard for. But it's a great feeling to steal your oponent's cards and then use them agains him. Prepare for a heated game!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Jeff
Tower of Power
June 11, 2002

I love this game! It is wonderfully cut-throat; which means you have to play it with the right person. There are plenty of options you will have to select from in deciding how best to smack down your opponent. Unfortunately, there is a big luck of the draw factor with regard to which temple cards you draw for your opponent to use. If you draw the cards they need, it can be very damaging to your efforts.

More than any card game I've played, Babel gives you quite a thrill when you are able to calculate a huge move and a surprise victory. There's always lots of tension playing this game.

One major modification to the rules that we use is that once a temple is totally completed, your opponent can no longer use the Assyrians to destroy the temple. This creates an interesting dynamic to the game and helps to make it considerably shorter, which is vital. Babel is constantly coming out of the game closet.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Very, very challenging
January 07, 2001

A new game in the [page scan/se=0546/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]two player series from Kosmos. This time by a duo, Uwe 'Mr. Bean' Rosenberg and Hagen Dorgathen.

Open the box and in the center a board is laid down between the two players which reminds me of Lost Cities, but the game play has really nothing to do with it. This game is complex. Very tactical by means of all the possible moves it allows.

The game plays on the banks of the Euphrat and Tigris (have I seen that before?) where the aim of the game is to build temples of 6 stories. Each player has 5 building locations, and the player to reach 15 points--with the opponent below 10 points--wins the game. The points are the sum of the top level. If the opponent has more than 10 points, then the game is continued until one player reaches 20 and has played it opponent under the 10 points (unless the first occasion happens first). If that doesn't work, then who has most points after the last temple card is drawn.

Well, 15 points, that is 2.5 temples. That shouldn't be too hard.... Forget it, it just isn't. Building temples is as easy as they are destructed and the best possible tactics should be chosen to balance the game for yourself. If you solely focus on building one temple, you're going to be an easy target, so you have to spread it more evenly. But the most complex issue of the game is the finding the correct tactics. The drawing of the cards (people cards and temple cards) leans heavily on the luck factor influencing the game. Somehow, you have to compensate this with tactics, and to my opinion this works (even though I had my doubts at first and I know the first game was frustrating). And tactics there are. During your turn you will have the following choices and you can use them all:

  • Travel: Move the playing figure to one of the building sites.
  • Settle: Play people cards at the building site (your stone (!) must be located there).
  • Build: Build your temple, where you can use both your and your opponent's drawn temple cards.
  • Migrate: Move 3 cards from one site to another.
  • Use people abilities: Each people (there are 5 different ones) has a ability. By playing 3 of these people cards (of one kind of people) you can again: Steal temple levels of your opponent; Destruct your opponent's temple; skip a temple layer when you are building; migrate your opponents people (of 1 kind) from a building site; exchange people cards with your opponent and half the amount of cards in your opponents hand.
...and you can do this all in one turn....

The game components are (as we are getting used to) of good quality. The center board is of good quality, as are the cards. The playing figure is a nice piece manufactured out of stone.

The downside of the game can be its complexity which is not suitable for everybody. It is certainly not for Lost Cities crowds, but perhaps more for Hera and Zeus or even Settlers Card game crowds (and I recommend you this game). Also those used to Uwe's other games like Mamma Mia or Bohnanza will be confronted by the game complexity.

As mentioned before, I have sometimes the feeling the game leans heavily on luck, but that seems to compensate itself. With some rules I can add question marks (like I can half my opponent's cards during the first move already; that shouldn't be allowed. Or why build rows of 10 of more cards while you only need 6 to build a temple. I need the cards in my discard pile). Anyway, these I can overcome and I'm seeing a great game in front of me with plenty of challenges still to be found out. That will keep me busy for a while. Perhaps in a while the game can reach 5 stars. For now I'll keep it on 4. Furthermore, you should be playing this game with someone just as competitive as you. When there is too much difference then the game is no fun for either.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Kane
Analysis Paralysis
September 09, 2003

Babel is by no means a bad game. In fact, it's a pretty good game.

I am generally not a gamer that suffers from Analysis Paralysis, but I do in Babel. There's just something about having too many options on your turn that makes players sit for WAY too long before they make their move. You're allowed to do several different things on your turn and you can do them in any order that you want and as many times as your want. This leaves you with an extreme amount of options that you have to think through. Overall, Babel is a good game. High production quality, well thought out mechanics, and a decent fun factor, but there is just something about it that makes me not be excited about it. I give it 3.75 stars. Good game, but not for everyone.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Don't expect a friendly game
January 03, 2002

I have come to expect games in the Kosmos 2-player series to be sufficiently competitive to yield a challenging game, but not so competitive that couples need to sleep in seperate rooms after game night. This is the first game in the series that I've played (and I own nearly all of them) where the winner should expect to apply sheets and blankets to the sofa shortly after the game.

Of course, my wife and I enjoy playing cutthroat games from time to time as well, but much better choices for those evenings exist such as the Gipf series.

The reason Babel doesn't work very well for us is that, while the special actions encourage aggressive play, the halve-your-opponent's-hand rule ensures that both players keep their card holdings to a minimum. This, of course, leads to chaotic, tactical play. If the game drags, it seems to do so randomly.

Hence, gameplay in Babel is neither friendly nor strategic, it's just mean.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Rich
What's the Buzz About?
July 20, 2002

I'm still trying to figure out why there have been so many accolades given to this game. I find the game extremely mediocre.

I do give props for great quality components and an attempt for unique card mechanics, but ultimately the game falls short.

I'm sure that there is some strategy in there somewhere, but I found the game to be highly chaotic which luck playing a big factor. All the games I have played have ended suddenly with the winnining player not realizing how or why they won.

I'm sure further playings would smoke out some sort of strategy, but when there are so many better two player card games to play, why bother! The bottom line is I, nor anyone I played Babel with found the game fun.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Babel:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.